We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We traveled from Chicago to southwestern PA to visit Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Our first time to this region of the USA and luckily we found the Hartzell House B&B. This lovingly restored Vic gave us an unexpected respite for a weekend filled with activities. The caretakers, Kitty and David, have provided their guests with all the amenities. Pleasantly, they were responsive to emails, provided beautiful acommodations, wonderful breakfasts, and a committment to make your stay as nice as it could be. Enjoy the rolling hills, scenic panaramas, and a stay at the Hartzell House.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrthelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 558 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

We just spent the weekend here with family and friends for a surprise birthday party. The place is a gem. The owners, Kitty and Dave, are friendly, professional, helpful and in all respects a delight. The breakfasts are superb. If there's such a thing as a "destination B and B" this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWLlBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We spent a delightful weekend in this beautiflu B&B where hosts Kitty and Dave thought of every detail to make their guests' stay perfect. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and the meals are delicious. When a cozy fire greeted us when we arrive late on a chilly evening, I knew we were in for a treat! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesDogsToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Hartzell house far exceeded our expectations. as it was everything a B and B should be as well as delivering many unfulfilled promises made by large hotels.
The hosts are so well suited to their roles that one would have thought they had been doing this all their lives. providing perfect service and somehow magically appearing when needed as well as allowing guests space to unwind.
Fascinating people themselves, Kitty and David also know how to furnish a room and provide items that give one the feeling that one couldn't ask for more. Our 8yo daughter was treated with respect and special efforts were made to make her feel welcome. We really had wonderful stay and look forward to visitng again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danioneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We came to see Fallingwater, but found ourselves having a wonderful mini-vacation staying at Hartzell House. Our teenagers, who were not enthusiastic about a trip to see architecture, were totally converted. They loved Fallingwater, and they loved Hartzell House. Our sweet hosts, Kitti and David, made everything perfect. The house is so comfortable, everything is beautiful. Nice big sitting room, with a separate study and dining room. We could really relax. But the food is the best! Amazing! We stayed two nights, and different menu each morning. Fresh fruit salad, fresh baked cinnamon buns, yummy quiche, savory pancakes. Mmmm!
The town of Addison is nothing to write home about, but the surrounding landscape is lovely, and only 1/2 hour to Fallingwater. In addition to Fallingwater, we rented bikes in Ohiopyle and that was good fun and beautiful. If you are heading to Fallingwater, I highly recommend a stay at Hartzell House.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Just returned from an all too brief visit to the Hartzell House. Everything about our stay was perfect. The house and rooms are beautifully done, the breakfast was AMAZING, but the hospitatlity of the hosts is what puts Hartzell House at the very top. Kitty and Dave are so warm and pleasant. We were a mother/daughter party of three, celebrating a birthday. Kitty and Dave were attentive and generous, not only with their attention to any need we might have, but also willing to offer some extra space, making our stay even more comfortable. We had a wonderful time. Add this review to the excellent ratings Kitty and Dave deserve and work so hard to maintain.
This is a must visit Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtownjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

If you're going to stay anywhere near Fallingwater, this is the best place to stay. The decor is fabulous, the hosts Kitty and David are gracious and unstinting in their efforts to make sure your experience is the best you'll ever have. It's impossible to list all that is good about Hartzell House - we were made to feel like family. The surrounding area is tremendous with great restaurants and antique shopping. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukemigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
566 reviews
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
73 reviews
11.2 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
449 reviews
23.1 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
269 reviews
23.5 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range: $129 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing