We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves every accolade” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
“Deserves every accolade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

We just spent the weekend here with family and friends for a surprise birthday party. The place is a gem. The owners, Kitty and Dave, are friendly, professional, helpful and in all respects a delight. The breakfasts are superb. If there's such a thing as a "destination B and B" this is it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWLlBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
361
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We spent a delightful weekend in this beautiflu B&B where hosts Kitty and Dave thought of every detail to make their guests' stay perfect. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and the meals are delicious. When a cozy fire greeted us when we arrive late on a chilly evening, I knew we were in for a treat! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesDogsToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Hartzell house far exceeded our expectations. as it was everything a B and B should be as well as delivering many unfulfilled promises made by large hotels.
The hosts are so well suited to their roles that one would have thought they had been doing this all their lives. providing perfect service and somehow magically appearing when needed as well as allowing guests space to unwind.
Fascinating people themselves, Kitty and David also know how to furnish a room and provide items that give one the feeling that one couldn't ask for more. Our 8yo daughter was treated with respect and special efforts were made to make her feel welcome. We really had wonderful stay and look forward to visitng again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danioneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

We came to see Fallingwater, but found ourselves having a wonderful mini-vacation staying at Hartzell House. Our teenagers, who were not enthusiastic about a trip to see architecture, were totally converted. They loved Fallingwater, and they loved Hartzell House. Our sweet hosts, Kitti and David, made everything perfect. The house is so comfortable, everything is beautiful. Nice big sitting room, with a separate study and dining room. We could really relax. But the food is the best! Amazing! We stayed two nights, and different menu each morning. Fresh fruit salad, fresh baked cinnamon buns, yummy quiche, savory pancakes. Mmmm!
The town of Addison is nothing to write home about, but the surrounding landscape is lovely, and only 1/2 hour to Fallingwater. In addition to Fallingwater, we rented bikes in Ohiopyle and that was good fun and beautiful. If you are heading to Fallingwater, I highly recommend a stay at Hartzell House.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canoeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Just returned from an all too brief visit to the Hartzell House. Everything about our stay was perfect. The house and rooms are beautifully done, the breakfast was AMAZING, but the hospitatlity of the hosts is what puts Hartzell House at the very top. Kitty and Dave are so warm and pleasant. We were a mother/daughter party of three, celebrating a birthday. Kitty and Dave were attentive and generous, not only with their attention to any need we might have, but also willing to offer some extra space, making our stay even more comfortable. We had a wonderful time. Add this review to the excellent ratings Kitty and Dave deserve and work so hard to maintain.
This is a must visit Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtownjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

If you're going to stay anywhere near Fallingwater, this is the best place to stay. The decor is fabulous, the hosts Kitty and David are gracious and unstinting in their efforts to make sure your experience is the best you'll ever have. It's impossible to list all that is good about Hartzell House - we were made to feel like family. The surrounding area is tremendous with great restaurants and antique shopping. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukemigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Hartzell house provided us with a relaxing, peaceful and appetizing getaway. Kitty and Dave are the most hospitibal and welcoming hosts, clearly in love with their chosen occupation and each other! Proud Marine parents and amazing cooks. They have done a truly beautiful job of decorating the home they choose to share. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
11.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
12.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing