We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Kitty and David are two of the loveliest hosts my daughter and I encountered on a week long road trip around Pennsylvania. The conversations we all had were thought provoking and interesting. Their home is warm, cosy and user friendly. Kitty is an imaginative and creative cook (and David's cinnamon rolls were delicious too!) My sweet polenta breakfast was scrumptious. I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Falling Water as we were, as it's only a short distance away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykay00010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
361
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We and our two best friends stayed at Hartzell House over Thanksgiving 2013 and had a simply incredible time. We have stayed at countless B an B's over the last 20 years and Hartzell House is our absolute favorite inn of all. The home and all of its lovely decorating and amenities for the guests were out of this world. Kitty even brought freshly popped popcorn to us as we were watching a movie in her beautiful living room of the historical part of the inn. The breakfasts and generous snacks were delicious and the Thanksgiving dinner was a gourmet delight complete with home made breads, savory vegetables and salads, turkey and cold salmon entrees and great desserts, Both Kitty and David are very serious and enthusiastic cooks who put a great deal of thought into menu items, their preparation, and presentation. They do it all so effortlessly and still have time to socialize and make their guests feel welcome. We are looking so forward to visiting again in the spring or early summer when we can enjoy their gardens and the pretty countryside. We so treasured the time getting to know the Stemacs as well as visiting with the other guests who were staying at the inn on the same weekend. It was a very memorable time for us all. Vicki and Russell, Greenville, Pa.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms in the upstairs of the older part of the home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had the lovely pleasure of staying with Kitty and David at their peaceful B&B in Addison while traveling to Falling Waters this fall. These hosts know what every guest needs and desires and make every effort to provide all the elements of a premiere B&B experience. We were made to feel most welcome upon our arrival, settling in right away to enjoy all the amenities with just enough information to get us started and not too much to have us confused with details...comfort here is a high priority, local recommendations were well researched, an understanding of the tourist operations kept us in check and when we were cutting our schedules tight, they had our back! Guests have a choice of breakfast, a choice of teas and treats in common areas, a choice of high end quality bath products and a surplus of luxurious towels... you are pampered indeed!

Room Tip: You have a very wide choice of beautiful rooms here, each is different and professionally decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited Hartzell House for the weekend while visiting Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Kitty and David made a wonderful, relaxing environment and very delicious food! They were gracious in accomodating my gluten allergy-- they made the some of the best baked goods I've ever had! I'd love to go back someday and would highy recommend it to anyone traveling near the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

A friend and I stayed in adjoining rooms in Hartzell House over a beautiful autumn weekend so we could check out Falling water. I am not usually a fan of B&Bs since I value my privacy, but this place was absolutely wonderful. The innkeepers David and Kitty were knowledgeable about surrounding area, kind, and phenomenal cooks. David told us about how he and Kitty restored the gorgeous historic property and added their own artistic flair, but also respected our time and space. The food was incredible and each morning was a delight. Can't say enough about how great it was!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKRON, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a wonderful B & B. Generous and welcoming hosts, lovely home with warmth and attention, and loving rescuers of dogs. And the breakfast - our best ever! Made our first adventure to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob a memorable experience. We'll be back! John and MaryAnn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Fernwalk Cottage is a perfect venue for reconnecting with family or friends. We met my high school chum and his wife for a long weekend and all four of us wanted to transport this beautifully renovated charmer to our own properties and LIVE in it! We spent the days touring Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob, and gathered around the fire each evening after dinner for cozy long chats. Our first night there, we dined at Hartzell House where Kitty and David provide Cottage guests a meal when arranged in advance. Not knowing Kitty was a gourmet cook, we only arranged dinner for our first night. DO NOT MAKE THIS MISTAKE! Plan ahead and inform Kitty you want her scrumptous meals EVERY night you are there!!! Even the dinner we had at the high priced resort nearby could not compare to Kitty's cooking.
RCGriffin

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
11.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
12.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing