We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people and incredible breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely people and incredible breakfast!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We only stayed one night with Kitty and David but it was just wonderful. They met all our needs quietly. The house is beautiful and so nicely decorated. The breakfast was FABULOUS!! The most gourmet food I've ever had in a B and B. We are already looking to return again with our friends!

Room Tip: The Trapper's room has a soft bed which my husband loved but me, not so much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MERmade50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
366
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We only stayed one night (Friday) but in that time we found the hosts to be friendly, informative and very helpful. We slept in the very comfortable and restful Teachers room. The ambience of the whole establishment was a delight with many extras available. The breakfast was delicious and well presented. It is a quality B&B and value for money. Next time we are in the area I will be staying here.
Addison township, where the B& B is located, is very central to many sights and restaurants in the surrounding area. A great play to stay when visiting Fallingwaters.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We made a last minute reservation to stay at Hartzell House based on their availability on short notice. What a fortunate decision that was! Kitty and David were wonderful hosts. The house is beautiful with all the amenities one would look for in a B&B. The food was amazing during our 2 day stay. Kitty helped us plan a full day of interesting activities in the area, introducing us to local shops and attractions which we never would have found on our own. They are located in close proximity to popular tourism attractions in Laurel Highlands region as well as western Maryland. We would recommend Hartzell House to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: The Trapper's room had its own sink and shared a large bathroom with another room. This was wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Hartzell House on our trip to visit Falling Water and Kentucky Knob. Kitty and David are amazing hosts and it is by far the nicest B and B that we have visited. The house was beautiful and anything that we could have wanted for was available and easily accessible. From the minute that we arrivied Kitty showed us around and encouraged us to make ourselves at home. They made this task easy in their amazing home. The breakfast was fabulous and our group enjoyed every morsel. We left the Hartzell House busily planning our next visit which we have decided will definitely be longer than one night. Thanks so much Kitty and David!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDZPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights. OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our three day mid-week stay with Kitty and David was so pleasant that it was hard to leave. Their attention to every detail to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable is astounding. There is something for every taste: delicious food for breakfast, lots of sitting areas in and outside the house, books everywhere on every conceivable topic, and of course there are the hosts who are always willing to chat or to give advice for activities and travel. It was a sheer pleasure to be in Kitty's and David's care.

Room Tip: all rooms seem fine. One room shares a very spacious bathroom with another
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almuth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a fabulous place. The Hartzell House was lovely. The food was deliciously healthy. Kitty and David couldn't have been more gracious and helpful to their guests. Everything we could possibly need to make our stay more enjoyable was already in place. If you are going to Fallingwater or anywhere else in the Laurel Highlands for that matter, the Hartzell House is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_and_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I visited this area for our 9th anniversary and stayed in Fernwalk Cottage, a property managed by Kitty and David, who own Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast. The "cottage" is actually a lovely home, perfectly restored in the Arts and Crafts style by David himself. Kitty had told us that all we needed to bring was our tooth brushes, and she was absolutely correct. The cottage is fully outfitted with anything and everything you could possibly need. The rooms are large and comfortable, the bed and linens exquisite and the location perfectly situated to visit all that the area offers to tourists.

Kitty and David are gracious and elegant hosts, and we recommend Fernwalk Cottage very highly!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
12.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing