We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middleburg, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We enjoyed our weekend stay here. The house was well equipped -- they have everything you need! We stayed in the Trapper Room, which was decorated with rich, dark colors and vintage hunting pieces. The dining room was bright and open, and while we didn't take advantage of the pool table we will next time! The location was good -- in a small, quiet town and within reasonable distance to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Kitty and David were great hosts!

Room Tip: Trapper and Teacher Rooms share a bathroom, but it wasn't a big inconvenience for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethanyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
377
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arlington, va
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

kitty and david's warm and authentic hospitality, yummy food, historic home and cozy room made me want to stay longer than my one night stay. you can tell they take extra effort to ensure you have a comfortable and memorable experience, as they have literally thought of every detail so you want for nothing. also, everything was spic and span clean. if i ever returned to see falling water, their place is the only place i'd stay.

Room Tip: for budget option, consider the teacher's suite which was spacious, had it's own in-room sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariearlingtonva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this home away from home. The owners were fantastic. So warm, friendly and welcoming. The rooms were beautiful and so artistically done. A lot of care went into the theme of each room. The breakfast always was on point, with an abundance of fresh fruit at each meal. My hubby and I went for our baby-moon Memorial Day Weekend 2012. Baby was so happy to be so well fed that weekend. :) This place also attracts great people. We shared many great laughs and met some very friendly travelers. It's about 20 minutes from Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Ohiopyle. The owners provided us with so much information about the area and attractions. We felt right at home. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone and we'll certainly be returning with more family! :) Thanks Kitty and Dave!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I just spent the past weekend at the Hartzell House B & B as a gift from our children. It was a fabulous gift and a get-a-way we greatly enjoyed and would highly recommend. Dave and Kitty greeted us with smiling faces, treated us to fabulous food, and were kind and gentle. We appreciated this so much. The rooms were cozy, beautifully decorated and immaculately clean...WOW is a great way to describe this B & B....Lancaster County guests

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a terrific b&b and we will definitely be back. The owners clearly love what they do and have put a tremendous amount of thought into every detail of the house and experience. The rooms are beautiful, the common spaces are lovely, and everything is designed for a relaxing weekend away.

I would remiss not to mention the breakfast -- DELICIOUS! Kitty talked about putting together a cookbook, and I sincerely hope she does! This is not simple eggs and bacon, this is real gourmet cooking. Delicious fresh homemade pastries that were to die for, and incredible main courses.

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We'll be back. Best nights of sleep we have gotten in a long time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We often look for B&B's when we travel, especially if we are looking for a relaxing and special experience. The Hartzell House B&B has made it to the top of our list. The B&B is located fairly close to Fallingwater in a beautiful area of Pennsylvania. The house has been lovingly restored and the additions to the building are appropriate to the integrity of the home. Innkeepers Dave and Kitty are gracious, personable and professional. The room was immaculate, comfortable and very well equipped. Breakfast was delicious. A great find! We would return. Ohio visitor

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I were finally able to getaway for a long weekend. We don't get to do it often but when we do we want to do it right. She happened upon the Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast website and she booked it right away. The historic home is immaculately maintained by the owners Kitty and Dave (a retired vet). It retains some of the historic charm while adding modern appeal. Our room was wonderful! The meals were top notch. Kitty and Dave were always available while remaining discretely busy running their business. You are only 30 minutes from two great restaurants and 40 from 7 Springs Ski Resort and Fallingwater. The views and landscape are something to behold for a lifetime. Every color of the spectrum was available. I don't think my wife and I have gotten so much sleep in three days. Thanks for a wonderful stay and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjm3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper_Kitty, Owner at Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for such a glowing review!
However, we do want to clarify an important item, David is not a retired vet. Our children are all military though; daughter - Air Force, son - Marines, daughter-in-love - Navy; and my dad was Army Air Corps. So we LOVE our nation's heroes who are willing to sacrifice so much, and we always offer our active military and disabled Vets a 20% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
551 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
18.3 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
438 reviews
23.1 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing