We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed and Breakfast near Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast near Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our stay at the Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast was perfect in many ways. We stayed in the Traveler's Room and it was beautiful and very comfortable - also very private. The entire experience was extremely positive. The owners go out of their way to make sure that you have everything that you need and the food is excellent. We would definitely book there again! Maggie and Erroll

Room Tip: I booked from the website and it is excellent for choosing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieKitsilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
365
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Hartzell House is a special place because of the owners, Kitty and David. They were so accommodating and have made the house so warm, comfortable and inviting. And it was immaculate! They presented a breakfast that was so exceptional in every way, we were amazed at their talent. We were visiting the area with friends that we see only once a year and the visit wouldn't have been any better if it had been in our own home.

Room Tip: Patriot Suite is very large and on the first floor if stairs is a consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Gracious, accommodating, and doting innkeepers provided an answer to every request. From earplugs, wine, beer, snacks, to a fabulous breakfast, everything was just perfect. Free internet access and water in the rooms, mini fridge for cold sodas/water. The location was fairly ideal for a visit to falling water. It be great if there were more to do in town, but you're within 30 minutes to larger cities/events. Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob are about 30 minutes away. The quiche and pastries were homemade and just can't be beat for the cost of the room. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I had a wonderful time at Hartzell House. We had a group of girls go for a 60th birthday celebration. The beds are wonderful. I slept great, and woke up to a tasty cup of coffee and delicous breakfast in my bathrobe. The innkeepers were very gracious to our needs. I must say it felt just like home. (only I didn't have to clean up)
The location was serene and gorgeous countryside views.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the new addition are very quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

beautiful victorian home, with a second newer wing added (great remodeling work). dining room has a pool table that we enjoyed using while having some wine in the evening. beds were very comfortable, area is very quiet...good nights sleep. hosts were very friendly and accomodating. free computer access was great. we have stayed at many b+bs and would rate the breakfast as the best we have had. overall this b+b is in our top 2.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lohramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We considered a last minute trip to Fallingwater and live 4 hrs away, so we wanted to make a weekend of it. Found the Hartzell House on line, they had a late room avaiability, and we had a great weekend. Great attention to detail in all aspects of the room and the meals-excellent breakfast. Supper nice people. Highly recomend and convenient to the areas attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Totally agree with the reviewer who said this is the golden standard for B&Bs. The property is beautiful, attention to detail and amenities spectacular, location convenient to area sights, great breakfast, and charmingly hospitable, yet discreet hosts. Everything is so thoughtfully done. We would hire Kitty to decorate our home! We are reasonably well traveled and this was one of the most all round satisfying places we have stayed. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bieneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
12.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing