We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but not great”

Stoudt's Black Angus Restaurant & Brew Pub
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Adamstown
Price range: $17 - $35
Cuisines: American, German, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfax
Level Contributor
128 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went there with friends after a long day of travel and shopping. We were hoping for something really special but were disappointed especially with our service. Our waitress was pretty much non-existent and it took forever for us to get the one appetizer that we ordered and our wine. The appetizer was very good. Our meals tasted fine but it just took so long for our food to arrive and we never did receive the bread that was supposed to come with our meal. So, all in all, it was OK but I'm not sure we would go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1890girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    95
    56
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarves
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great beer and good food in a very traditional looking interior. We had crab cakes and an angus burger, preceded by oysters rockerfeller. All of which was really good. Menu is a little burger and chips oriented so don't come looking for health foods. Emerald Lady ESB is the recommended tipple.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very nice place to enjoy family & friends! It is in a beautiful European complex filled with antiques of all regions.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I love brew pubs and this is one of the best for both the food and beer. There are two menus, a pub menu and a fine restaurant menu. There were four of us on a day trip thru the area. My son-in-law and I ate from the pub menu, my adult son ordered from the restaurant menu and my wife had an appetizer only. We all enjoyed our meals and everyone rated it very highly. The three men each had a different beer and all rated them as excellent.

The pub menu seems to be priced just right in my opinion. The restaurant menu is a little on the pricy side but offers nice sized portions, excellent selections and high quality.

If you like brew pubs don't miss this one when in the Lancaster/Reading area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomDoc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Munich in Adamstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Ed does have the passion and knows his beer. All the beer is excellent. Yes, ALL the beer is excellent. I have been coming here since the early 80's and always come back. Times have changed, Whitey, the famous bartender is now retired, but Dave, the manager keeps excellent people on staff. The food is of very fine quality, yes there may have been glitches over the years, but that is not the norm of this place. Ed is a true German. If you do not understand the high complement of that last phrase, I advise you to take a Mercedes for a test drive. Every detail is considered at Stoudts. Again, ALL the beer is excellent. Ed baked his own bread, now his daughter Elisabeth bakes. ALL the bread is excellent. Did I mention the Elisabeth's home made cheese? AND the fresh oyster bar.....The Black Angus Steaks are a given. The experience reflects a true family affair of love and commitment that has built this establishment into a must stop if you are ever near.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoudt's Black Angus Restaurant & Brew Pub also viewed

Adamstown, Lancaster County
 
Adamstown, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Stoudt's Black Angus Restaurant & Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing