We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange & unexpected, but a unique treat!”
Review of Stoudtburg Village

Stoudtburg Village
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Adamstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stoudtburg Village is primarily a residential hamlet that is reminiscent of a village in Germany. We have a few individually owned specialty shops, and a café that serves food and alcohol. The Village is always open for strolling our walkways and admiring the unique architecture and lovely gardens. You can also sit and relax in the plaza while listening to the sounds of the water splashing in the fountain. At the top of the fountain sits a cherub, affectionately known to villagers as "Peaches." We will let you figure out why :). Picture taking is a common occurrence in Stoudtburg Village. We often have wedding parties taking advantage of this beautiful location for pictures of their special day. So come and enjoy this unusual setting...take a stroll, sit and chat awhile, stay as long as you like!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Strange & unexpected, but a unique treat!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This village is designed to look like an old world German village, and it does a decent job as long as you don't look too closely. The buildings are colorful and made up mostly of shops on the ground floor and residences above the shops. Of the three times we've been there to walk around, it has felt very deserted with most of the shops either out of business or closed. The one restaurant that has often been open, and is actually quite a gem, is The Village Haus. If you get bored walking around or want a bite to eat, I highly recommend stopping in here for one of their delicious sandwiches or salads. The atmosphere is modern and cozy, and the service is great. As far as the village goes, I've heard great things about the Wonderful Good Market (which has never been open when we've been there), and the food/beer at the brewery. The brewery is situated separately from the village, so I always consider them two separate entities. If you plan on making a trip out to see the village, definitely inquire about special events/hours before doing so, so that you're not stuck walking around a ghost town that would be infinitely more charming if there were people filling the pedestrian walkways between buildings!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    16
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT COFFEE, ORGANIC BREAD and AGED CHEESES----we loved it”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

What a cool place! We weren't sure what to expect but we were so impressed with Stoudtburg Village. In the "Wonderful Good Market" (strange name, I think), was freshly ROASTED coffee (the guy roasts coffee daily) and it was awesome. We also bought some of the cheeses (aged on the premises---you can see the shelves of it through a window. My husband thought the cheese was round loaves of bread), and a loaf or organic sourdough. It was all delicious. We aren't into antiquing but if you are, there were a lot of antique vendors at the market as well. The market sits adjacent to a village where there are also little stores---we only went in to the bike store (for serious bikers) and the candy shop. Worth a trip in my opinion. The place that had the bread and cheese also has a restaurant which looked like it would be good. We plan on going back---a truly unique experience that the kids will remember---almost feel like you are in Europe.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank COFFEELVR52970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stouts pub excellent”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Not only is it a great little town to visit, the Stoudt Pub is well worth visiting. Home brews and seasonal beers tomthe list of beverages and a well assorted menu that will please everyone. The loaded potatoe skins are a great start for any meal.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wheelz369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Antiques and farm products”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Most of the vendors knew exactly what they had and sold it for more than its worth.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank milfordmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertFeline, Guest Relations Manager at Stoudtburg Village, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We honestly think we are cheaper than a lot of locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremont,PA 17981
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stoudtburg Village is a Great Place to Visit...”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

...And you might Like it So much you might want to Live there also!
Very quant little village full of everything from antiques to a great candy shop to my favorite The Toy Robot Museum!
I mean who doesn't LIKE robot!
The curator Joe is a Class Act to say the Least!
After a jaunt around the shop grab a Bite at the great coffee shop.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoudtburg Village also viewed

 
Adamstown, Lancaster County
 

Been to Stoudtburg Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing