We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Adamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Cobolt Room at the beautiful Amethyst Inn. We were greeted warmly by all the staff even though we arrived several hours early and continued to have excellent service throughout our stay. The Inn is very nicely decorated and we loved the look of the Cobolt Room. The The breakfast was a delicious way to start the morning. We would certainly strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymric94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    29
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
134
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for a few days seeking a place of refuge. The Amethyst Inn did not disappoint. The place is warm and beautiful and full of charm! The room had all of the comfort of home and was filled with character! The food was supurb and the service was excellent. Tom was an absolute joy to talk to and made us feel like family. We will definitely come back when we are in the area!
- The Jacksons

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndiSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend to relax and recharge. We stayed at the Amethyst Inn and its a great little B&B. Each room has its own character. Our room had a king size bed, steam shower, Jacuzzi tub, and a balcony. It was a wonderful room.

The description that the breakfast is continental is an understatement. This is a sit down breakfast and you are served wonderful items such as a breakfast casserole, a sausage and cheese biscuit, and so many other wonderful items. They do start you out with some lovely fruit, coffee and choice of juice. I personally like a light breakfast so I couldn't eat all that was served to me.

One thing that confused us was that our GPS kept missing this place. They have a narrow hilly driveway so just look for the driveway between the two pillars and there is plenty of parking next to the house.

We would definitely return. Oh.. and a bonus is Cecil, the dog. He was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegeekboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We traveled to the Lancaster area of Pennsylvania this past Memorial Day weekend to spend time and ended up in Adamstown, the self professed US Capital of Antiques. We are always on the internet and tripadvisor.com looking for the next great B&B and we found it in the Amethyst Inn of Adamstown Inns and Cottages. It lived up to all the reviews and we loved it. The Inn sits on a hill on Main Street in Adamstown (the drive to the small parking area is a bit steep but it is worth the climb). I had made the reservation over the phone with Kristin and she was just as wonderful on the phone as the person we met at the Inn. We stayed in the Amber room on the first floor just off the parlor where breakfast would be served and the stairs to the suites on the second floor. I was worried that it might be noisy but it was not at all and it was nice just walking out our door to our table for breakfast. Our room was very large and the bathroom had a HUGE spa tub which we loved and spent much time in. It also had a see through gas fireplace – but it was too hot this weekend to use but still lovely. The bath had a large massage shower which my husband had fun trying to figure out the best settings. When we arrived we were greeted by Kristin, given a tote with area information and a gift of jelly beans on the bed. The second night we were given a little potted plant (which is sitting in my kitchen window at home) and when we departed we were given a snack box for the road (YUM). We loved the breakfasts we were served. It seems like someone took a lot of time to THINK about what we would like and how we would like to be treated and that is what we look for when we visit B&Bs. Thanks to Kristin, a soft spoken sweetheart, for making us feel special and exceeding our expectations!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We just love staying at the Adamstown Inn - it's like our home away from home! We have had a great experience every time we have stayed there! Tom, Wanda, and Kristen make you feel so welcome and treat you like family! The breakfasts are awesome, and they even send you home with a box of yummy baked goodies for the road! I would highly recommend the Adamstown Inn - you will not be disappointed! Craig and Donna

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The ruby room was so beautiful and romantic and the steam shower was awesome. Breakfast was delicious as always and Kristen outdid herself. Tom, Wanda, Kristen and Cecil treat us like we were family. We feel like we are at our second home. Can't waite to go back!!!!! We have been coming to the Inn for the past five years and we are always welcomed with open arms. Tom is so delightful especially when he comes over to your table during breakfast with great coffee in hand. We absolutely love the Inn and of course the antique shopping is great. We tried two new restaurants Judy's on Cherry St. and Checkers both were great we recommend them. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Inn.

Artie and Stephanie

Room Tip: All rooms are great they are unique and romantic in their own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This a great place to stay. My wife and I just spent our anniversary weekend here after having stayed once before over ten years ago. We have always meant to get back to Adamstown and to stay here specifically. We were so glad that we did. The owners,Tom amd Wanda Berman, remembered us from staying there before. They and their innkeeper Kristin were very cordial and welcoming and were a big part of making our stay such a great one. Our room was large and comfortable, with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The breakfasts here are fabulous. We have often recommended staying at the Amethyst Inn to friends and acquaintances, and will definitely return, sooner the next time than this last visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamstown
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
17.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
395 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#3 of 7 in Manheim
651 reviews
7.9 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn & Cottages

Property: Amethyst Inn & Cottages
Address: 144 W Main St, Adamstown, PA 19501 (Formerly Adamstown Inns & Cottages)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Adamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amethyst Inn & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amethyst Inn, a Lancaster PA Bed and Breakfasts located in the heart of Antiques Capital in Lancaster County’s Amish country. We are minutes from outlet shopping, historical sites and golf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Amethyst Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing