We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Historic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altland House Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Abbottstown B&B and Inns
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Historic”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night this past June. The building is historic but has been restored while keeping most of its old-world charm but with modern comforts like air conditioning and wifi. The bed was comfortable. The room was a little dark but otherwise large and nice. I know you do not come here for the TV, but just to note, it was pretty tiny.

A few things to note .. it is convenient to Gettysburg though there is a whole lot of mostly nothing between you and Gettysburg. You check in at the restaurant check in desk and there is no lobby (in case you are looking for one when you get there). The free continental breakfast has much to be desired.

All in all, I do recommend. Its comfortable and the old world styling is nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNJBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brogue, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We looked at the menu online which enticed us to stop, I was excited by the porch seating and we were told we could sit where we wanted. From there it went down hill. The strawberry daiquiri didn't taste like such. We ordered chicken & waffles and a cheeseburger and fries for my child. The chicken was good but the waffle was mushy, which was gross so I pushed that aside figuring I could eat the chicken with the mashed potatoes. Wrong. The mashed potatoes were just poor by all stretches of imagination, I've had instant potatoes MUCH better than whatever these were. My child ordered a cheeseburger which was very tasty, but when we got the bill we found out it was the pub burger, why our waitress wouldn't know that a child was ordering off the child menu was beyond me...and if there was any question she could have asked. We were never given the opportunity to express our disappointment because no one bothered to ask how our meal was. The only saving grace for this place is that they were so busy we would like to try it again in hopes we ordered the wrong thing this time, but it won't be any time soon. Lastly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I spent last night in Room 25 at the Altland House Inn and Suites. We were greeted promptly on arrival and directed to our room. The staff had thoughtfully turned the A/C on in anticipation of our arrival. Gorgeous furnishings. Comfortable king bed. Lovely linens. Beautifully decorated to reflect the 1850's.. BUT modern as well... Multi heads and a waterfall in the shower. We were hungry upon arrival so we sat at the bar (middle of afternoon) and had a drink and a bowl of the best Baked Tomato Bisque you could find anywhere... I did not want to leave this morning after a more than adequate continental breakfast...Cannot imagine where some of the previous raters stayed to write such negative comments.. We are widely travelled and expect (and appreciate) fine hospitality which was just what we got at the Altland House. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 25 was beautiful with a king bed... Room 26 (we were shown this room because it was available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasty_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our lunch took over 30 minutes to come for à salad and à club sandwich. An order of nachos arrived so cold that the cheese had hardened and they were inedible. The table next to us we heard complaining bécause their hamburger buns were burnt. The only good thing was the iced tea served with à sprig of fresh mint and the soup de jour, à Cream of crab with asparagus.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Croftcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Md
Level Contributor
332 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I were doing our weekend auction-thing, and were waiting for a sale to start. We decided to check out the town (Abbottstown)...not much to see, but quaint, and nice for a short walk in the crisp fall weather. We saw the Altland House Inn and went in to look around. it looked very well maintained, and had several guests coming and going; a good sign I would think in this sleepy little town. We ordered a drink from the bar and decided to sit out on the big front porch. Unfortunately it only overlooks the traffic circle, but it was a beautiful day and the porch was comfy and fun! The bartender was very nice, and provided us with some home fried potato chips with a lovely honey-balsamic drizzle...yum yum and free to boot. There was a restaurant attached to the bar area, that looked very fresh and modern. I would go back to this site while traveling through Pa for a drink or lunch. Atland House seems like it would be a lovely place for a fun overnight; not too far from sights to see as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were not able to find a hotel in Gettysburg, but were lucky enough to land at Altland House, about 20-30 minutes drive away. Abbottstown is tiny with no cafes that we could find, but is a cute little town nonethless. A very old hotel, this has been beautifully maintained and renovated over the years and still retains its old-time feeling. The room we had was quite large and comfortable, with a tiny table and chairs and furniture and fabrics that were in keeping with the period. Everything was pristinely clean which we really appreciated. That said, the room had not been re-decorated in about twenty years. The bathroom, for example, had a pink toilet, tub, shower and sink with a cultured-marble top and dated brass fixtures. But, the staff were friendly and accommodating if not particularly helpful. The one thing we did not like was breakfast- it was served in a pleasant dining area, but had cold cereal, a bowl of fruit (which was good!), juices and store-bought pastries - sort of yucky. There were also packages of instant oatmeal with no hot water - even after we asked, what we got was lukewarm and that couldn't rehydrate the cereal. We went elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kipellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After eating dinner in the restaurant, we decided to book a room for the night. The room was roomy and clean. Our bed was comfortable. I liked the fact that the bathroom was heated, a plus on this chilly morning. We loved the fact that the building had been around for so long. I loved the transoms above the doors. The hotel was charming and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbottstown
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
398 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Cross Keys Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in New Oxford
13 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,443 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
542 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altland House Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altland House Inn and Suites

Property: Altland House Inn and Suites
Address: 1 Center Square, Abbottstown, PA 17301
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Abbottstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbottstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altland House Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Altland House Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altland House Inn And Suites, Gettysburg Hotel Abbottstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing