We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine with the Hubbard Hop Farmers”

Top O Hill Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dine with the Hubbard Hop Farmers”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This family diner dates from 1926 and is restored to better than original condition. The 5-page menu lists many Oregon favorites. I had razor clams one night and halibut on another. My wife enjoyed liver and onions that is rarely served these days. Drop by Sunday and most of the customers will be local bean, berry and hop farmers and their familys all enjoying the same dinners their grandparents did before interstate highways and chain restaurants came to the Willamtte Valley.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rudybaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“The place the car goes to when we "just want to relax and have a home style meal"”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have become regulars at Top o Hill. They have great home style food choices (I haven't tried them all yet) and we also like the Monday night and Friday night specials...BBQ all you can eat ribs(we seldom can eat all of the first serving!) and Fri/Sat. prime rib and razor clams. Also, the lunch burger(until 2pm) with choice of sides is my husband's favorite for lunch. Part of the year they have Taco Tuesday where you can get 2 tacos for $1.50..yum. The owners and all the servers are friendly and make you feel right at home. Don't miss out on some of the best food around but save some for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celsie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick lunch, and the food was great! The Chef Salad (small one) was made with very fresh ingredients, and was more than I could eat! The Ruben sandwich was extremely good as well! We highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n5kur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old fashion service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You have to try their Ruben sandwich. We always split one and have a cup of home style soup.
The service is so friendly, even when it's busy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Best Home Cooked Meal in a Restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My cousin recommended this place. We came on a Friday night. The Specials were Razor Clams, Oysters and Prime Rib. We ordered the Razor Clams, Oysters, and a Breakfast, which is served all day. The soups that day were Clam Chowder and Chicken & Dumpling, or you could choose a fresh green salad. We tried all, and all were very good. We saw the Prime Rib at another table, and it certainly looked "order worthy" for another time. The clams were huge and cooked just right so they were not tough or chewy. The Oysters also were just right. The side was green beans cooked with bacon and onion, and choice of potato (baked, mashed, reds, fries or onion rings). Rolls were also included. The breakfast ordered was scrambled eggs with ham, hash browns, toast and we included a half order of biscuits and gravy. There was more than enough food and then some. We also ordered the Apple Dumpling for dessert, with ice cream.
This is a great place to eat. The service is friendly and efficient, the prices reasonable. We look forward to going back. Just wonder what took us so long to find it in the first place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top O Hill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Top O Hill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing