We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great even if you don't bring your dog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great even if you don't bring your dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We've loved this hotel for our trips with the dog, but this time we came without her. We still enjoyed the spaciousness of the rooms, the grounds, and the friendliness of the people. We do have one caution: if you want to sleep with your windows open (thank goodness, they do open, as do the doors to the balconies), ask for a room on the east side, not on the side toward the freeway. The west-facing side is noisy at night. Otherwise, though, our stay was just as good as always, and we went down the road to Morning Glory for breakfast--reason enough to stay in Ashland--so we didn't need the hotel breakfast but it's a nice perk. The rooms also have small fridges, microwaves, coffee makers, and kitchen sinks. The price is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter; rooms on the west face the noisy freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMWSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and we are so happy that you found everything to meet your needs while staying with us. We always strive to make our guests stay better and are always so pleased when we hear how we are doing and that you were able to experience all that we have to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    141
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
142
158
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved the large suite which easily accommodated our family. It was pet friendly and the grounds for walking the dog were close by. The setting is very pretty with nice views of Ashland hills. They provided a nice breakfast basket of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola bars. Orange juice, coffee and hot chocolate were also included. It will be really nice when the renovation is completed which will include a pool. Overall it was a very comfortable and staff friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs balcony rooms looked great! The pet friendly rooms are on the first floor with easy acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,
Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We are so happy that you found our rooms to meet your needs and was able to enjoy our grounds here and the breakfast snack that we provide.

We are greatly looking forward to finishing our renovations and are hoping to have some additional amenities to offer soon for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland, and thank you for choosing the Ashland Hills for your visit.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Part of this hotel has been refurbished and the other part and pool are under construction and not open yet. I liked the large rooms in the suite and the beautiful view of the hills from the balcony. It was completely full and latecomers made quite a lot of noise next door and above us. However, they grant requests for upper floors based on when the reservation was made and we didn't qualify. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay there. It was pleasant walking on the dog path and admiring the roses along the way and it was an easy drive to downtown. Front desk staff were helpful and resolved a problem for us cheerfully. Breakfast basket was made to order and appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was and we always appreciate all feedback. We are glad that you found our rooms to be spacious and that our front desk was so helpful and was able to resolve an issue that you had during your stay with us. We do always try to accommodate all guest requests and apologize that we were not able to meet all of your requests during your stay with us.

We will be reviewing with our staff more ways to try and ensure that all guest requests are met, but it can be harder to meet all requests during our peak season and we are very sorry that you had neighbors that were noisy during your stay with us. We take noise complaints very seriously and well also review with staff about performing walk arounds and quiet times of the hotel are made aware to all guests during their stay with us. We are looking forward to having more room options and remodeled areas in the next few months and hope to see you again on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were in Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival. Ashland Hills is not located in downtown, but it took us less than 10 minutes to drive. Room is very clean, big and comfortable. The double bed (not queen) is small for 2 people, but the bedding was so comfortable that I fell asleep right away. I was a bit nervous when I booked the hotel since it was one of the more affordable option. The hotel is going through a renovation, I think our room is not renovated yet. We can see the renovation on the other wings of the hotel. Can't wait to come back when it's done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of reopening some buildings that the previous owner had closed a few years ago and are looking forward to expanding our hotel and amenities to our guests in the near future. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate you letting us know how we are doing.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland and we will hopefully have some added amenities for our guests in the very near future.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We have stay here frequently. These are suites; a small living room with the TV, microwave, refrigerator, sink (miniature kind of bar area), Very spacious bathroom and separate second sink. Very clean, spacious, well-maintained, and comfortable. The staff is always ready to be of service. Complimentary snacks for breakfast; coffee, juice, toast, and fruit delivered to your room with the newspaper. It is right off the freeway and a five minute drive to downtown Ashland. The rate is surprisingly low even during the Shakespeare Festival. We highly recommend this Ashland gem.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank richruppert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would just like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We will be sure to let our staff know how clean your room was and how helpful you found us to be as well. We always enjoy helping our guests experience and know all that Ashland has to offer and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland.

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Traveling from San Diego to Vancouver stopped here and experienced best-in-class affordable lodging. Complimentary cookies at check in...a front desk courtesy call within a half hour to make sure that we were pleased with our suite...very clean accomodations... superb mattresses and bedding...three sinks in as many rooms - great for a family...breakfast and my choice of newspaper delivered to our door in the morning...laundry facilities on site. We will stay here next time we attend the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in Ashland or travel to Crater Lake.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocacasale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and we are so happy that you found everything to meet your needs while staying with us. We always strive to make our guests stay better and are always so pleased when we hear how we are doing and that you were able to experience all that we have to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Recently re-opened after much renovation - the Ashland Hills Hotel has everything one could need for a great time in Ashland. Cleaner than my own home- with excellent staff who actually provide accurate information so you get what you are told - no surprises. Comfortable beds with quality linens, soaps, shampoos, and anything else you can imaging. We stayed in a room that opened on to a courtyard with a walking trail. The pool should be ready within the month, but this is my new go to place in AShland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out onto a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pokeybonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandRep, Manager at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are just so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on to our staff how helpful they were and how clean your room was. We are always more than happy to help our guests know more about the Ashland area and welcome answering any questions that we can to make our guests feel more comfortable and get the full Ashland experience.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ashland!

Thank You,
Ashland Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Property: Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1411 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#5 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side of town and just 3 miles from downtown Ashland this 14-acre property boasts panoramic mountain views, intimate courtyard patio, a seasonal outdoor pool and jacuzzi, as well as two tennis courts. Experience an uplifting 1970s retro-modern, timeless design, comfortable furnishings and over 160 spacious guest rooms and suites. Our guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, wireless Internet and parking. It's a perfect destination for families, business travelers, and anyone coming to explore this part of Oregon. Its location offers easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including pristine mountain lakes, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and a fantastic dining scene. Just a short drive from the numerous golf courses, local wineries, hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing. We are also excited to now offer our on-site restaurant, Luna Cafe and Mercantile. Serving specialty coffee and fresh baked items for sale from 8am - 11am, and then serving a full menu for lunch and dinner from 11am - 9pm. While you are Orbiting Ashland we hope you land at Luna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing