We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent value and a really comfy sleep!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value and a really comfy sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although this hotel isn't right downtown it's close enough and very convenient for the I5 (no hwy noise either) When entering the complex don't be put off by the "closed for business" section the hotel is undergoing renovations, having been taken over by another Ashland hotel. At the moment there are just 75 rooms being utilised. An all suite hotel, with spacious, clean accommodation, comfortable beds, kitchen facilities set in surprisingly quiet 14 acres of grounds given the close proximity to the busy freeway. Staff are friendly and helpful.

This hotel provides excellent value for money, although the complimentary breakfast basket could be improved, also providing some basic crockery and kitchen utensils would make better use of the kitchenette, but for cleanliness and comfort you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflier24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    162
    39
    4
    3
See reviews for
165
188
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is our favorite hotel in Ashland. The rooms are large with a separate siting area which is great if one person prefers to stay up later than the other. Microwave and refrigerator are good for keeping and warning snacks. Bathrooms are large. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness is excellent. As the motel is at the south end of town its very quiet and has a lovely view of the hills. You are about 3 miles from downtown so you do need transportation. The site is bicycle friendly and just a couple of blocks from a paved trial that goes into the railroad district of Ashland. From there you can connect to the Bear Creek Greenway and ride on the paved bike path along Bear Creek to Medford.

Room Tip: You have a better view from the 3rd floor rooms and no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This newly managed refurbished hotel is quite a find. The rooms are all suites with two tv's, microwave, mini fridge, complimentary 24/7 coffee, cookies and pet treats at checkin, apples, complimentary breakfast snack, large pet area for the dogs, and friendly helpful staff. We stayed for two nights, checked out and then decided to stay an extra night in ashland to attend another play, so checked back in for another night. It is a short drive to downtown Ashland, but is located right off I-5 for easy access.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Waimeawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has recently changed management, I believe, and name. The value is great.We had a large suite-two separate rooms for a very reasonable price in comparison to other accommodations in Ashland. The suite looked recently refurbished. There is a minimal breakfast that is brought to the room at the guest's requested time.

Room Tip: Get room on third flooring back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This lodging is located away from the downtown area of Ashland otherwise the remodel of our room was satisfactory. The delivery of the morning basic breakfast was a bit unusual but OK. It was nice to have two rooms, unexpected and welcomed. There is no swimming pool, no spa, ect, but there was tennis courts. This is a dog friendly lodging and we would rather not have been in a room that had dogs romping on the beds prior to our arrival.

Room Tip: the property is under remodel, so pick accordingly there is no restaurant and you must drive to down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milehighbullet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our first stay was A-OK and rates a big Woof! This is the former Windmill and under new management. Right off I-5 with restaurant and gas stations adjacent yet relatively green and no noise to speak of. Rooms of sufficient size and mini-kitchen if you need that sort of thing. Stay on first floor with couryard access for fido's needs. A grassy area for that and no car traffic issues. They also provide a great little breakfast basket if you need to be on your way early. A pleasant find and good night sleep.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JWCFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

First, let me say that management needs to contact Trip Advisor to change the property listing name to "Ashland Hills Hotel Suites" and also change their gigantic "Windmill Inn" freeway sign to avoid creating needless confusion. They should also consider changing reservation services, as ours on Booking.com was lost and we were told that his had happened several times before as well. No worries though, we finally found the place and the friendly staff quickly remedied the reservation problem. Now on to the review.....

Don't be put off by the appearance at the entrance. Drive on down to the office and get a room - You'll be pleasantly surprised! This large complex was apparently a Windmill Inn until fairly recently. It has multiple buildings and what appears to have been a thriving conference center. Someone spent a bundle on it all and it was obviously a very nice place. Now however the conference center and many of the buildings are closed. It appears to us that it may have gone into foreclosure and is being operated by someone new.

That someone new, clearly knows what they are doing. They've taken the best building of the complex (which has stunning views of the beautiful hills on one side and a pleasantly park-like courtyard on the other), and opened it again for business. We found the staff friendly and efficient. Our room was satisfactory in all respects and the WiFi worked well. The bed was exceedingly comfortable and the room included a desk (always appreciated) and a small but useable kitchen, which would make it quite suitable for longer stays.

As countless others also do, we almost always stay over in Ashland to break up a trip to California on I-5. We've stayed a number of places over the years and have never really been disappointed. Ashland is a fun, upscale kind of place with lots of nice shops, good coffee, restaurants, and of course the renowned Shakespearean Festival. If you've got the time, it's a nice place to spend a day or two. This hotel is a little farther from town (we'd guess a bit more than a mile), but also a much better price than the closer places. We saved enough on the room to pay for a nice breakfast at Morning Glory (Highly recommended!), and that's a win in our book! In short, we liked this place and would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Property: Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1411 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#5 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side of town and just 3 miles from downtown Ashland this 14-acre property boasts panoramic mountain views, intimate courtyard patio, a seasonal outdoor pool and jacuzzi, as well as two tennis courts. Experience an uplifting 1970s retro-modern, timeless design, comfortable furnishings and over 160 spacious guest rooms and suites. Our guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, wireless Internet and parking. It's a perfect destination for families, business travelers, and anyone coming to explore this part of Oregon. Its location offers easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including pristine mountain lakes, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and a fantastic dining scene. Just a short drive from the numerous golf courses, local wineries, hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing. We are also excited to now offer our on-site restaurant, Luna Cafe and Mercantile. Serving specialty coffee and fresh baked items for sale from 8am - 11am, and then serving a full menu for lunch and dinner from 11am - 9pm. While you are Orbiting Ashland we hope you land at Luna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing