We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet lovely view and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Kensington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet lovely view and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has recently changed management, I believe, and name. The value is great.We had a large suite-two separate rooms for a very reasonable price in comparison to other accommodations in Ashland. The suite looked recently refurbished. There is a minimal breakfast that is brought to the room at the guest's requested time.

Room Tip: Get room on third flooring back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    139
    36
    4
    2
See reviews for
139
156
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This lodging is located away from the downtown area of Ashland otherwise the remodel of our room was satisfactory. The delivery of the morning basic breakfast was a bit unusual but OK. It was nice to have two rooms, unexpected and welcomed. There is no swimming pool, no spa, ect, but there was tennis courts. This is a dog friendly lodging and we would rather not have been in a room that had dogs romping on the beds prior to our arrival.

Room Tip: the property is under remodel, so pick accordingly there is no restaurant and you must drive to down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milehighbullet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our first stay was A-OK and rates a big Woof! This is the former Windmill and under new management. Right off I-5 with restaurant and gas stations adjacent yet relatively green and no noise to speak of. Rooms of sufficient size and mini-kitchen if you need that sort of thing. Stay on first floor with couryard access for fido's needs. A grassy area for that and no car traffic issues. They also provide a great little breakfast basket if you need to be on your way early. A pleasant find and good night sleep.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JWCFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

First, let me say that management needs to contact Trip Advisor to change the property listing name to "Ashland Hills Hotel Suites" and also change their gigantic "Windmill Inn" freeway sign to avoid creating needless confusion. They should also consider changing reservation services, as ours on Booking.com was lost and we were told that his had happened several times before as well. No worries though, we finally found the place and the friendly staff quickly remedied the reservation problem. Now on to the review.....

Don't be put off by the appearance at the entrance. Drive on down to the office and get a room - You'll be pleasantly surprised! This large complex was apparently a Windmill Inn until fairly recently. It has multiple buildings and what appears to have been a thriving conference center. Someone spent a bundle on it all and it was obviously a very nice place. Now however the conference center and many of the buildings are closed. It appears to us that it may have gone into foreclosure and is being operated by someone new.

That someone new, clearly knows what they are doing. They've taken the best building of the complex (which has stunning views of the beautiful hills on one side and a pleasantly park-like courtyard on the other), and opened it again for business. We found the staff friendly and efficient. Our room was satisfactory in all respects and the WiFi worked well. The bed was exceedingly comfortable and the room included a desk (always appreciated) and a small but useable kitchen, which would make it quite suitable for longer stays.

As countless others also do, we almost always stay over in Ashland to break up a trip to California on I-5. We've stayed a number of places over the years and have never really been disappointed. Ashland is a fun, upscale kind of place with lots of nice shops, good coffee, restaurants, and of course the renowned Shakespearean Festival. If you've got the time, it's a nice place to spend a day or two. This hotel is a little farther from town (we'd guess a bit more than a mile), but also a much better price than the closer places. We saved enough on the room to pay for a nice breakfast at Morning Glory (Highly recommended!), and that's a win in our book! In short, we liked this place and would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were very positive surprised by this property. A few people here noted that it is hard to find the lobby, but we had no problems as it is really well signed out where the lobby is. Check in was speedy and we received our fresh baked cookies and were asked to sign up for the free breakfast which they send to your room at the time you tell them. Our room was on the third floor and looked out onto the fields and was very spacious. A few minutes after we were in the room, the front desk called to check if we have anything, great customer service. For the rate we paid (military discount $82) this room was enormous! Separate sitting room and bedroom, the bed was so big and was very comfortable. The hotel is very quiet and we enjoyed a good sleep. In the morning at 8 am they brought the basket with the breakfast to our room and we were surprised how good it was. Coffee, granola bar , fruit, butter, jam, orange juice and English muffin. I can only recommend to stay here when in Ashland!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation_addicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first thing you notice when you arrive at the hotel is that there is a large portion of the complex that is not occupied. The "lobby" required a bit of hunting to locate but a new lobby is apparently being built. Staff was very friendly and had good suggestions for restaurants. While not located near Ashland's major attractions, the hotel has good access from the highway. The best attribute of the hotel (as it should be) was the room. We had a large suite with a massive, very comfortable bed (perhaps the largest we've ever slept in). Two TVs, a sofa and a kitchenette. We also had a decent continental breakfast that was delivered to our room. We'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We love this place. It is handy to get to once you leave the freeway, and handy for heading out for restaurants for dinner. There are "pets allowed" rooms and mostly "no pets" rooms. We stayed in a pet room with our cat this month. When we first arrived we had the smell of the carpet having just been cleaned. We put the bathroom vent on and cracked the bedroom and living room windows. When we got back from dinner, the air was just fine.
We like that all of the rooms are suites, so it feels spacious. The housekeepers do a great job. Parking is very handy to whatever building you are in. We have been on the back side and there is zero noise at night. I don't know how the front of the building would be for noise because we've never been there. The room rate is excellent. This month our suite was $87+ local tax. In 2013, that's pretty good.

Room Tip: The bed was so comfortable that my husband plans to call them to find out what the mattress brand is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
“We Keep Coming Back!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness and quietness of our suite. We are also pleased your stay was comfortable.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
2.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites

Property: Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Address: 2525 Ashland Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1411 (Formerly The Village Suites at Ashland Hills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#5 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side of town and just 3 miles from downtown Ashland this 14-acre property boasts panoramic mountain views, intimate courtyard patio, a seasonal outdoor pool and jacuzzi, as well as two tennis courts. Experience an uplifting 1970s retro-modern, timeless design, comfortable furnishings and over 160 spacious guest rooms and suites. Our guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, wireless Internet and parking. It's a perfect destination for families, business travelers, and anyone coming to explore this part of Oregon. Its location offers easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including pristine mountain lakes, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and a fantastic dining scene. Just a short drive from the numerous golf courses, local wineries, hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing. We are also excited to now offer our on-site restaurant, Luna Cafe and Mercantile. Serving specialty coffee and fresh baked items for sale from 8am - 11am, and then serving a full menu for lunch and dinner from 11am - 9pm. While you are Orbiting Ashland we hope you land at Luna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Suites At Ashland Hills Hotel Ashland
The Village Hotel Ashland Hills
Windmill Inn Of Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing