We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit, still perfect”
Review of The Winchester Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Winchester Inn
Ranked #8 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Third visit, still perfect”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We love this place and look forward to what has become our annual visit. Warm welcome, personal attention, lovely accommodations--what more could you ask for? The breakfasts are superb; you won't want to eat again until dinnertime. But do plan to have dinner here as well, because it's also superb.

Room Tip: We like the Marjorie Roy room. It's upstairs on the corner with a nice sitting area, nice views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, General Manager at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for sharing! We are thrilled to hear that it is becoming a yearly event. The majority of our guests are those who join us year in and year out. The more familiar faces the better. We hope to see you again next year!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
General Manager
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    23
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
144
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Everything was excellent about this property — the rooms, the service, the grounds and the location. The breakfasts were fantastic with fresh fruit artfully arranged, delicious main courses and great coffee. They spared nothing in putting together the breakfast. We also had a dinner one night and were very impressed by the menu and the food. And just a block from downtown and a short walk to Lithia Park. We hope to return soon.
If you are staying elsewhere, at least go there for dinner.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the Cottage suites are great. If not, get a second floor room for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDawg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, General Manager at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for writing! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! The staff all take great pride in being able to provide the services we do. I hope you have a chance to join us again!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
General Manager
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Cozy and homey. Great location. This Inn has 3 buildings next to each other. Rooms are comfortable. Stayed in "Catherine M" - a little small but sufficient. It has a balcony which is shared by the room next door and looks out into the wall of the next building - not a good view! Turn down service is just that - turn down and two toffees. I don't think they should even bother.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street not the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, General Manager at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! The Catherine M room is indeed one of our smallest rooms, but every room varies greatly in size, layout and view. Turn down service does indeed turn back the bed and provide treats, but we also strive to make sure you have any fresh amenities you might need and freshen up the room.

I hope you have the chance to join us again, and to possibly try another of our rooms!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
General Manager
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
275 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our stay here was a tale of two hotels. We were first placed in the carriage house and didn't like it. There was no hot water and the wifi didn't work. They promptly put us in a beautiful suite in the main hotel and we loved it. It had high ceilings and beautiful old windows. The bed was beyond exceptional as were the linens and pillows.

The bathroom was large and classy with every amenity. The bathtub was large and perfect and the shower had crystal glass and was also very nice. We stayed in the Fordyce Suite and I can't imagine anyone not enjoying it.

The front desk people and cleaning people were all very friendly and eager to make our stay nice. We also really enjoyed the breakfast but found the dinner to be unexceptional.

This would be the place we would return to when visiting Ashland.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, General Manager at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us! I'm so sorry to hear that the first room you stayed in was having difficulty with the wifi and hot water. We are working hard to fix these problems and I greatly appreciate you bringing them up.

I am also thrilled to hear that the room swap was smooth, easy and more importantly, everything you had been looking for. I hope you have the chance to join us again on the next visit!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
General Manager
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Every care is taken of the guests at this inn which has an exceptional restaurant as well as a wine bar. The location in the midst of an English country garden is a short walk from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and a half block from the main street of Ashland. The rooms are delightful with every possibly amenity including fresh flowers and home made cookies delivered in the middle of the afternoon. The hosts and all their employees get to know your preferences immediately and are always available for touring advice, to make your reservations for dining (elsewhere if you honestly don't know what you want!), and acquire your airline boarding passes. We cannot say enough about this exquisite inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben050938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words! It was wonderful to have you join us at the Inn.

The staff, everyone from the housekeepers to the chef, are always proud of the level of service they give to our guests. I hope you have a chance to join us again soon.

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
General Manager
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Winchester Inn is a premium B&B style inn in Ashland with wonderful cuisine at its breakfast offerings, and an array of original and traditional plates at dinner. The staff is the best and you cannot beat the location, just a couple of blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Treat yourself and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, General Manager at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us! We greatly appreciate the kind words.

The staff works diligently to make sure that every stay is a memorable one, and I am happy to hear that your's was just that. I hope you have a chance to join us again soon!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
General Manager
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent four nights here. The breakfasts are fantastic, with excellent service. The location is excellent: short walk to the Shakespeare Festival, Lithia Park and many restaurants. Although the inn is just one-half block off the main commercial street, and our room sided to the back of commercial uses, it was extremely quiet. I don't think it is possible to find a better location. great service.

My wife and I stayed in the Silverdale suite. Our adult son was in the Queen Anne room. Both very nice.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nhulberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, General Manager at The Winchester Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hello again! It was great to have you and your family join us!

We are always thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that the relative quiet of 2nd St. was just what you needed. The location is one that balances being just far enough from Main St to not have to fight noise pollution, but still just a hop skip and a jump from everything that Ashland has to offer.

Thanks for writing! I hope to see you all again soon!

Regards,

Drew Gibbs
General Manager
Certified Sommelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.1 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
669 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
778 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Inn

Property: The Winchester Inn
Address: 35 S 2nd St, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Winchester Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Inn offers luxury accommodations, affordable excellence, the restaurant features local ingredients with global inspiration, craft cocktails and boutique wines. We are the only Wine Spectator Award Winning restaurant in Ashland as well as the only restaurant with a Certified Sommelier on staff. Top Chef of 2012 - Pamela Lanier's B&B Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Winchester Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing