We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$179
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bard's Inn(Ashland)(Great Value!)
$147
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stratford Inn(Ashland)
$185
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites(Ashland)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Windsor Inn(Ashland)(Great Value!)
$163
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ashland(Ashland)(Great Value!)
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland(Ashland)(Great Value!)
$108
$92
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$999
$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Springs Inn(Ashland)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timbers Motel(Ashland)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
26
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
4
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 31 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We loved everything about The Shrew House. Sitting outside in the sun eating breakfast was wonderful. And coming back to the pool after watching a play was a great way to end the day. We look forward to making The Shrew House our first choice in lodging in Ashland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Ronna and Corren were fantastic hosts, making us feel immediately welcome in their comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast in Ashland, Oregon. We felt completely at home as they are genuinely interested in creating an atmosphere where you feel at ease - as if you've known them for years. They went out of their way to make sure that my dietary needs (gluten intolerent) were met with delicious breakfasts and specially prepared oatmeal bars - yum! They generously let us include our daughter, who wasn't staying there, come for breakfast one morning. When we had to leave early on departure, they packed us a special "picnic" breakfast to take on the road. We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Shrew's House is an incredible find. We were immediately welcomed by Roger, the friendly feline greeter and Ronna and Corren our superb hosts. The very clean room was just right with a comfortable bed, tasteful decor and a great jet tub. All rooms are to the back of the main part of the house and the street noise is minimal. The pool was heavenly and warm and what a surprise bonus for a B & B! The 6ish block walk to the Shakespeare Festival was very nice although I suppose some might find it far. My friend and I found it perfect after sitting through a play. Bread pudding with fresh fruit and sausage was served for breakfast and we enjoyed the conversation of the guests and the great stories offered by Ronna and Corren. It was fun to share impressions of the plays with others. I had e-mailed them only one day prior to our arrival to warn them that I was a vegetarian and they graciously served me a delicious veggie sausage patty. I was very sad not to stay longer in order to enjoy the pool and the lush grounds more. We hope to return next year. I would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cairo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We only had one night to spare, but wish we had had more. The hosts were most accommodating regarding our dietary (vegetarian) request. It was also great that they joined in the breakfast conversation and made it feel like a meal among friends. Our room was beautiful and roomy, with a sitting area, a very comfortable king bed, even a small refrigerator and microwave. The property is on the main street through Ashland, close to restaurants and theater venues. (We didn't hear any street noise at night, though.) We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

No place works for everyone and Shrew's House did not not work for us. It has small rooms, small breakfasts and a small pool. Wi-Fi only works in the main house, not in some of the rooms. It is directly on the main street through town with associated noise and light, though Ashland is a quiet town. Seems like the innkeepers may be losing their enthusiasm for B &B life. Expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picky_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhileman, Owner at Shrew's House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2009

We agree with “Picky in Olympia” that an inn cannot be the right setting for every guest. When the couple arrived, one of them appeared in a panic about street light entering their room. We provided special curtains for him. It would have been wise if they had alerted us about this special need before their visit.
Our housekeeping is always meticulous. However, for these guests we had to change bed linen four times in a six day stay, to remove the chocolate and makeup that were smeared into the sheets.
During a hot spell, they continued to set their thermostat below 65 degrees. The heat pump for our cottage fell into disrepair largely as a result of the continued low settings in their room. They ignored the repairman who advised them to keep their thermostat at 72 degrees during the daytime hours when the weather is above 100 degrees.
Upon arrival “Picky in Olympia” asked us to provide an separate earlier breakfast everyday because one of them would be attending a conference. We were happy to provide this extra service. We also adjusted the food provided when asked.
We offer a warm welcome to all reasonable and considerate guests.

Ronna & Corren Hileman
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews