We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Treatment”
Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #5 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We ended up here after another reservation fell through. We basically showed up on their doorstep in the off-season and were welcomed. We were the only ones there that night, and they made us feel so special. We toured every room and picked our favorite. The house is decorated beautifully, and the public rooms are very inviting. There are a couple of small kitchenette-type spaces where you can make coffee or tea whenever you want it. We also met with the cook and had a chance to talk about breakfast. Since it was just us, we didn't want him to make a fuss. He took it as an opportunity to try out some new recipes. We were happy to be test subjects for him and had a great conversation with him in the morning about all of the food spots in town. It was such a treat to enjoy the parlour after dinner with a fire in the fireplace, and raiding the cookie jar as we read books for hours. It was the perfect night after a long drive. Thank you! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 259 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

We happened upon this property from a local reference in a recent trip from California to Washington State. We found it to be elegant and comfortable at the same time. Even though the property does not take animals, they found a spot for our dog due to freezing winter weather. Food was exquisite and cooked to order.

We made a special arrangement to stay again on our way back to California from Washington, because of the special treatment accorded our family of 7.

Bravissimo to this wonderful space!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank scotthosfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I'm almost speechless when thinking about what to write about this B&B that's just a few blocks away from the main part of downtown Ashland. The service and accommodations were excellent and the staff were attentive to our dietary (gluten and daily-free) needs at breakfast. All sorts of historical pictures and paintings on the wall which made you feel like you were visiting a museum. Double-paned windows kept the room quiet, even though our room faced the street. Great place to stay that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Great views from The President Hayes Guest Room that is equipped with two large, queen sized beds, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Knowing nothing about Ashland Oregon aside from the fact that it was a good place to stop for the night on our trip, we booked a room at the McCall house after reviewing the plethora of positive comments on tripadvisor and other sites. We were highly impressed with both the town and the B&B. The McCall house is a stone's throw from the main hub of activity in Ashland, which consists of eclectic shops, diverse cuisine, and interesting nightlife. Ashland was really quite intriguing; it had a small-town feel but many of the features (such as cuisine, art, etc.) that you'd expect out of a bigger city.

The B&B was truly top notch. The owners made us a superb breakfast of crepes, fresh fruit, and sausages in the morning. The room was truly regal and much more interesting than the cookie cutter places that are often the usual fare. The common areas were still decorated for Christmas, and it was so relaxing to be able to sit by the fireplace and quietly read the newspaper. The entire team of folks we met (including the owners) really made us feel at home without being overly invasive. My one regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

...and the best breakfast....the friendliest staff, a most magnificent victorian house located dead center in the town of Ashland.....who could ask for anything more?
Wlll return asap, the town itself being quite nifty.

Room Tip: depending on the season, you may have to book early....it is just soooooo good and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallemjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Everything about the McCall House is wonderful: in no particular order:- wonderful, cosy, comfortable room (the Anna Anderson) in which to snuggle by the stove with a sherry and a book; incredible breakfasts (one in particular was the stand-out meal of my whole holiday); being able to explore the library; seeing the house in the dusk with welcoming lights; parking so you can explore the town on foot. But the key thing is the sense of welcome from the exceptional staff to someone who turned up on the doorstep having been drawn to the door by those lights. Ashland is gorgeous and this is such a great place to explore it from.

Room Tip: They all looked great - I was very happy with the Anna Anderson room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have stayed here with a group for several years. The hospitality is always outstanding, the food is exceptional. There is a wide variety of rooms, something for everyone. We really like the location as we can walk to the plays, and anywhere in downtown Ashland.

Room Tip: Lower carraige house was the least desirable for us, still ok though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
853 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $143 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing