We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful bed and breakfast!”
Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #6 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent a couple of nights there a few months ago and were extremely well taken care of.
The food was excellent and so was the hospitality. We are definitely going back!
The McCall house has been updated but still has it's wonderful history in tack. The owners were
extremly professional but kind and friendly. We felt that if we wanted to socialize in the morning we could but also could still keep to ourselves if we wanted.
In general it was a wonderful time there and within walking distance to the downtown area. Just perfect.
Sandy Barnes

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puffy1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for McCall House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 257 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've been returning to McCall House for a few years now, and love it. Wonderful breakfasts. We always stay in the North Carriage House, which is outside the main house, so a bit more private, with the amenities of being able to use the parlor in the main house, and the cookies in the afternoon/evening.
The place is immaculate, and the bed is one of the few outside of home that I like, always wake up rested. Wi-Fi for my husband who can't be disconnected from the world, and I like it too.
We come here to go to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and nothing is more convenient. We get here and can walk everywhere, theatre, shopping, restaurants, and Lithia Park.
I love the sitting area outside, between the main house and our room, with the fountain, tables and comfortable chairs, great for a picnic lunch, or a glass of wine, reading or knitting or chatting.
There is no pool or fitness center

Room Tip: house rooms are warmer in the winter, although we don't find it a problem (we have also been the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I saw on Trip Advisor that this was the Number 1 rated Bed and Breakfast in Ashland, and I can certainly see why. The house was lovely, the rooms beautiful, the staff friendly, the breakfast delicious, and the location ideal. It was nice to park in their private lot behind the house and be able to walk to shops, restaurants and shows at the Oregon Shakespeare festival. If I am ever in Ashland again, I will definitely try to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StLouisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the McCall House for one night in July and had a wonderful time. Nola and her staff were very friendly and welcoming. The President Hayes suite was perfect for our family of four. With a comfy chaise lounge in our room's bay window and lots of places to relax downstairs, it was hard getting our two girls to leave and explore the town. The temperature indoors was extremely comfortable, especially considering the 100 degree weather outside while we were there. And breakfast was incredible – the cinnamon bun french toast was absolutely ridiculous.

It's so special to stay in such an historic building when visiting a charming town like Ashland. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at McCall House 10 times over the last 8 years.The breakfasts are scrumptious and beautifully served. We especialily enjoy the interaction with other guests. The beds are heavenly. The staff is wonderful. The little sip of sherry at the end of each day is a nice touch. I'm grateful that my husband never mentions staying anywhere else when we are in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at McCall House for many years now. We've stayed in many different rooms and each has been first class. The breakfasts are wonderful, although 9:00 is a bit late for us. We look forward to each visit and know we will enjoy the McCall House thoroughly.

Room Tip: The upstairs room are at the top of steep stairs so we prefer the main floor or carriage house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ginny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Quite the lovely B&B, it is just a couple of blocks from the Shakespeare Festival and the rest of downtown. Close to parks, restaurants. Has good amount of parking in back as well, so we just parked the car and left it there for 2 days until we left.

Breakfasts were very good, with good variety of main dish between the two days. Coffee and teas available throughout, and nice iced tea from late afternoon on with very tasty cookies which also varied quite a bit the two days we were there.

Room was of standard size for a B&B, with a very comfy bed. We were on the back-side of the inn and it was very quiet even right by the back door. Nice back patio right out the door as well to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndreyDSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.5 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
831 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $152 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing