We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”
Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #5 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My room was nice. The innkeeper was a bit aloof. The garbage trucks were deafening early in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the best Ashland B&B and here are the reasons why: convenient location within walking distance of all Ashland attractions, the rooms are cozy with a turn of the century feel, the afternoon cookies and lemonade are a real treat, & when the guests gather in the sitting room before breakfast, casual conversation and a sharing of theatre experience is a natural. Speaking of breakfast, the morning fare has consistently been excellent, served in the cheerful dining room.
All well and good, but none of this would be possible without the professionalism and attention to detail by Innkeeper Nola and her exceptional staff. As the title asks, "Why would you stay anywhere else?" The only reason is because the Inn is all booked up.

Room Tip: The sleeping porch accommodates four easily; perfect for our annual "girl's getaway".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just got back from a week at McCall House. We've been going to Ashland every summer for 10 years, but this was our first stay at McCall House. (The place we usually stay was booked by the time we made our plans this year.
)
We've stayed at a several B&B's over the years, in Ashland as well as elsewhere, and this is one of the best! Nola, the owner/innkeeper, is warm and welcoming and also very professional in her approach to running her B&B. And you can't beat the location, especially if you're in Ashland to attend plays at OSF. It's 1 1/2 blocks from the theaters!

Kelly's breakfasts are absolutely delicious, although quite rich. We opted for oatmeal a couple of mornings which was perfectly prepared and plentiful. Breakfast is served at 9 am. Nola rings a small handbell to invite everyone to be seated at the same time at several small tables.

The decor is charming. Rooms are beautiful and well-appointed. We stayed in the Carriage House North & South. Both rooms are equipped with a small refrig and microwave which is very convenient. Nola is always looking to see how she might make improvements and confers with her guests for feedback and suggestions.

We REALLY appreciated the useful information posted in the dining room: breakfast menu for the following day (with oatmeal as an option if you inform them before 8 am); weekly weather forecast; weekly OSF event calendar; other local info, e.g. July 4 parade and activity schedule.

Nola's whole staff is outstanding. Housekeepers Janet & Herman are a charming couple who go the extra mile to be of service to guests. They have been working there for 8 years, which says a lot for them as well as for Nola. Linda, who works on Janet & Herman's days off, is helpful, friendly and efficient.

People who stay at McCall House return year after year and make it their "home away from home".

Room Tip: Walls in Carriage House are thin, so sound travels. (Also, the toilets are extremely noisy when flus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have been to Ashland many time and I have stayed in many of the local B&B, however, in the future I will always try and stay in the McCall House. The house is localed in the heart of the city - only about 2 blocks from the Theaters. The room was very comfortable and atttractive. Lastly, the morning breakfast was excellent and the afternnon cookie and sherry were a nice treat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have stayed at McCall house several times over the past several years. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Somehow, they also foster an atmosphere that makes guests who have never met before strike up a conversation in the sitting room. The rooms vary in size, and therefore price. The breakfast is very tasty, the afternoon cookies are delicious. Nola and the staff do a great job of making us feel welcome.
It is great to stay so close to the center of things - the Shakespeare festival is 1 1/2 blocks away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, they vary quite a bit in size and layout. The rooms on the upper floor, sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The team at the McCall House put their thinking caps on over the winter and now all of the upstairs rooms have their own thermostat controls for the air conditioning. This is a big deal, even in June when the days go up into the 80's and don't cool down a lot at night (and trying to get the room cool late in the afternoon with one open window is not expeditious).

The breakfasts are superb! By the way, if you can't "do" B&B-style breakfasts, the staff will accommodate you with delicious oatmeal or meusli, and they will try to arrange something nice if you have more extreme dietary needs. Don't let food concerns deter you from trying the McCall House!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grey-Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We loved our stay at the McCall House in Ashland. It's charming and we were enthralled with all the special touches that have been given to this lovely and historic home. The location is perfect; it's so close to the restaurants, Lithia Park, and the Shakespeare theaters. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and the opportunity to visit with some of the other folks staying at McCall House. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.3 mi away
The Winchester Inn
The Winchester Inn
#9 of 30 in Ashland
243 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $143 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing