We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time travel to the late 1800's in elegant style!”
Review of McCall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCall House
Ranked #6 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Time travel to the late 1800's in elegant style!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This gorgeously restored home takes you back in time with its combination of antique furniture and beautifully crafted architectural details. The environment is opulent and simple simultaneously! A real treat that rounded out our wonderful time at the Shakespeare Festival!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petdocbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
123
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Of all the B&B's in Ashland (and I've stayed at 5 now) - McCall House is the absolute best! We have stayed in 3 different rooms, we have been going back for almost 10 years, and it is our home away from home! It is the most perfect experience if you want the most relaxing and wonderful time EVER!

Room Tip: One of the best rooms is the Carriage House UPstairs... a hidden gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We're long time enthusiasts and over the last several years have traveled with two couples, and all of us are so delighted that we sign-up for rooms for May, 2013 as we leave in May, 2012.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete and Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The McCall House has it all: charm, history, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, but most of all, it's a place to meet new friends who are fans of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The inn is a hundred yards from the theaters and restaurants, so you can leave your car in the parking lot for the whole time in Ashland. For exercise, Lithia Park has a beautiful path that leads more than a mile up the mountain alongside of the rushing Lithia Creek. The Ashland area is great for cycling too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Excellent location as it is one block from the theatres, restaurants, shops, and town. Delightful common areas (living rooms, dining room). Superb guest rooms - we looked at several after we checked out and saw almost all of the rooms. Any would be delightful to stay in. May be a bit of noise from … read morea nearby brew pub, but not a big problem. Wonderful host!!! Delicious breakfasts and mid-day treats. Sherry in rooms. Beds were made as we dined for breakfast - lovely touches to make each guest feel special. Enjoyed meeting other guests. Do give it a try - we'll be back for future visits.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likestoeatout405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was my 32nd season in Ashland and over the years I have stayed at several of the hotels and B & B's. None of them surpass the Mc Call House for quality of accomodations. The property is elegantly decorated throughout with every thought given to the comfort of the guests. The staff is carefully chosen, professional and very pleasant at all times. The breakfasts are fabulous. Nola is, without question, the best innkeeper ever.
About 8 years ago we settled on Mc Call House for our annual visit to Ashland. Look no further!

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms in the main house. The carriage house is also well-appointed, but it's nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A group of friends and I have been going to Ashland at least twice a year for the past 25 years to see the Oregon Shakespeare Festival season. For the last ten or so of of those years, we've stayed at the McCall House for one or both of our annual trips. Our group considers the McCall House the best B&B in Ashland (and we have stayed in many different hotels and B&Bs during our years of attending the Festival). The experience starts with the house itself, a beautifully restored Italianate Victorian mansion located about three blocks from the OSF theatres - you can walk to everything. Inside, the house is beautifully appointed,with large rooms, high ceilings, an elegant but comfortable mix of modern and antique furniture, and first-class bedding and bath appointments. But the capper is the excellent service: Innkeeper Nola O'Hara and her staff go that extra mile to make you feel welcomed and comfortable. An example from our most recent visit: I had booked rooms a little a little later than usual and so our favorite room was not available. After our first night, the next booking for that room unexpectedly cancelled, and Nola called and first offered it to us. We took it for the remaining two nights of our stay. It is that kind of knowledge of and attention to a guest's needs and preferences that sets the McCall House apart. Nola is also a wealth of information about the current best restaurants, best OSF productions, and other sites and activities in the Ashland area. And, as many have already noted here, the breakfasts are superb. Finally, the McCall house has many features that B&Bs frequently lack - Off-street parking, wi-fi, and internet access, and several rooms that can comfortably accommodate more than two people. It has all of the charm and character of an historic B&B, but with the amenities and service of a small five-star hotel. Our group likes to mix it up and try new places from time to time. There are many fine B&Bs and hotels in the Ashland area, but we always come back to the McCall House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffC726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCall House

Property: McCall House
Address: 153 Oak St, Ashland, OR 97520-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing