We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My First B&B Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Downey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My First B&B Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My sister and I decided we needed a vacation (rather last minute, about three weeks away) and remembered going to Ashland with our daughters (then in middle school). We are both approaching empty nests now that our girls have graduated and going on to college, so we decided to splurge and try a B&B. How fortunate to find Abigail's had ONE room left - and to meet Patty and Abby. I made the reservation online and then called (at 9:45pm on a Friday evening to ask additional questions) -- I was surprised when Innkeeper Patti answered the phone and was friendly and welcoming - and I felt assured that our splurge was justified and I had made the right choice.

There was one parking spot left when we arrived on Friday afternoon and we were immediately charmed by the large front porch with inviting seating, grounds which were beautifully planted (and lovingly cared for by Abby) -- and I looked up longingly at the small private balcony that just happened to be off the room we had reserved!

Patti and Abby are the perfect innkeepers, having hit the right note between friendly but not intrusive and informative but not interfering -- coming from a background of restaurant and hotel they really do know what they are doing.

We were able to see two plays during our short weekend: the first one (My Fair Lady - highly recommend if you can get tickets!) ended at 11:15pm, we tried our innkeeper's recommendation of Sesame (great!) - and the 10 minute walk back from the theatre did not feel dangerous or risky for two 50-something women. The second was a matinee and we were able to enjoy dinner after (another great innkeeper recommendation, Dragonfly).

It was relaxing to arrive and park on Friday and not have to get back into our cars until we left on Sunday. Parking is not impossible, but challenging - and the 10 minute walk back and forth was quite pleasant and helped with the guilt of the wonderful food that we ate both in town and at the Inn.

We found that having our hearty breakfast (twice baked potatoes with scrambled eggs and turkey sausage) with fresh juice, fresh fruit and spinach frittata - was substantial enough to carry us through to an early dinner. Then there was always a "snack" of banana bread and brownie available 24 hours with an impressive assortment of both coffees and teas.

I was a little hesitant to spend the money for a B&B but between the convenient parking and the wonderful breakfast (which would be an additional $15-20 out), it was a goof value and a prudent choice. And the rooms (individually controlled thermostat) lovely quilts, Victorian antiques and wallpaper JUST the right shade of green with luscious cabbage roses were completely worth it! LynnandSharon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We had so much fun having you and your sister stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
157
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is an especially clean, warm and comfy B&B. The hosts, Abi and Patti are welcoming and accommodating to guests needs especially if there are special needs. They are knowledgeable to what is going on in Ashland and easily can tell you how to get from place to place. What was wonderful for us is Patti packed us a foodie bag because we had an early flight home and would not be there for breakfast!
The gardens are beautiful and relaxing. The front porch wold be anyone's idea of a place to sit and read with your coffee or tea.

Room Tip: Abigail Rockefeller is a tad small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benz320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review - we enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Abigail's B and B. Abi and Patti are very warm and friendly hosts, the house is spotlessly clean, the rooms attractive and quiet, the surrounding yard and gardens lovely, the breakfasts superb--both amazingly good and beautifully presented. We have enjoyed meeting and chatting with the other guests at breakfast. During our most recent trip this last week, we attended a couple of plays as usual at the OSF (an enjoyable 15 minute walk from the B and B), hiked around the top of nearby Mt. Ashland, swam at Lake of the Woods (an easy hour away, suggested by Patti and Abi), and for the first time, shared the time at Abigail's with our son and his partner after we drove north to Ashland and they drove south to meet us there. We think you'll be pleased if you stay at Abigail's B and B.
~Martha and John

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you John and Martha, it was so nice to have you with us again and especially nice to meet your son and his girlfriend. Really glad you enjoyed your afternoon at Lake of the Woods, it is one of our favorite places!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We returned to Abigail's almost exactly a year after our first visit and felt like we were returning home to family. Patti and Abi are the friendliest, most accommodating hosts we could ask for. The B&B is immaculate, with beautiful decor and showpiece grounds. Our only problem is the breakfasts--they are so delicious and so big we hardly had any incentive to take advantage of Ashland's many fine restaurants! We will definitely stay at Abigail's again the next time we're in Ashland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Abigail Adams room both times, but we've seen all the rooms and they all look g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyAndDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you Jenny - it was fun having you and Dennis back with us. Maybe we'll be neighbors someday soon?! We look forward to your return visit to Ashland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We loved Abigail's on first sight, and our opinion only improved as the week went on. We felt quite spoiled by the warmth and friendliness of owners Abi and Patti, and their house was very welcoming -- nicely decorated, with a ready supply of cold sodas, water, coffee and tea at all times, as well as fresh baked goods every afternoon. The Rockefeller room was attractive and comfortable, and had all that we needed, including TV, wifi, and an extremely comfortable bed.
Due to our schedule at Shakespeare Comprehensive, we only enjoyed the two-course breakfast on our last morning there, but Abi and Patti very kindly accommodated us with an earlier breakfast that was simpler and smaller, but was delicious and more than adequate.
We also were very fortunate in our fellow guests, and had a great time discussing Shakespeare with new acquaintances.
We highly recommend Abigail's and we would absolutely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrookie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you attended your OSF classes, it was a pleasure to have your company for the week. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved Abigail's B+B because of the warm welcome we received; the delicious breakfasts; the cozy and immaculate room; the comfortable large porch and great coffee. In fact, we came back a week later and stayed again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you Robin, it was a pleasure to have you and your sister stay with us - twice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Abigail's is a wonderful, charming turn of the century home with all the modern comforts and conveniences included. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thanks to Abbi, we had great recommendations on what to do and see for our first time visit to Ashland. The home and gardens are just beautiful. After a wonderful night sleep, the frosting on the cake was the marvelous 5 star breakfast. I will definitely revisit Ashland and will stay again at Abigail's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We enjoyed your visit and hope you can return and stay with us for a few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
3.2 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.7 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 451 North Main Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn is located within an easy 15 minute walk to the heart of the Oregon Shakespearean Festival Theater District as well as the town Plaza, Lithia Park, Boutique Shopping and Gourmet Restaurants. One of Ashland's premier BnBs', Abigail's was built in 1904 and offers charming Craftsman details. Abigail's has 5 upgraded en-suite guest rooms with new carpeting and black-out blinds. Each room has individual A/C heating units as well as Cable TV, Coffee/Tea making facilities, Free Wi-Fi, Guest Amenities and Hair Dryers. A complimentary gourmet 2 course breakfast from scratch is served at 9 am every morning. Complimentary beverages, snacks and home baked goods are available 24/7. Abigail's two bedroom Vacation Cottage with self-catering facilities is an option for those looking for more solitude. Beautifully detailed gardens, a large relaxing front porch that offers views of the distant hills and a private back deck which is a perfect place to hang out whilst relaxing with an early evening glass of wine. ** The vacation cottage and main house are not pet-friendly. Children 14-years and older are welcome in the main house, children of all ages are welcome in the vacation cottage. A non-smoking/vaping property.** Abigail's is located on a main bus route, is a 20 minute drive from Medford Airport and a 10 minute drive to the SOU University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing