We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ashland's New Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ashland's New Gem!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have traveled to Ashland many times as we often drive between northern CA and Portland, Ashland is the perfect mid point on the drive. On this trip we discovered Abigail's B and B. It was known for years as another name, but the new owners (about a year ago) took over, remodeled and renamed the inn, and it is now the new gem of Ashland! We were able to get a sneak peek into the rooms upstairs and they are all equally lovely, so fresh and newly decorated. We had the room upstairs with the balcony and it was so nice to sit out in the evenings and watch the sunsets! The hosts are very kind, the gardens are just beautiful and I really enjoyed walking through them. We also enjoyed the Adirondack chairs amongst the Aspen trees, what a great place to relax with a good book! The house is super clean, the breakfasts were delicious. We were so comfortable. Abigail's is now our go to place in Ashland. Oh, and one last thing, because we make this drive so often, it's really nice to be able to park our car at the inn and not get in it again until we're ready to leave because we can walk everywhere! That's a big plus for us.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own a/c control, private bathrooms, flat screen tv's. lots of attent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you Annie and we enjoyed having you as guests of Abigail's. Ashland really is a great stopping point between northern CA and Portland and I'm glad you found us on this trip. The room with the balcony is Abigail Alcott's room, it overlooks the front lawn and the eastern hills, it really is lovely in the evenings to sit on the balcony, or our front porch. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are truly grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
157
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed on a Thursday night last week. The room was lovely, the owners lovely, but the noisy room was a disappointment. While we booked late, it would have been good to know the particulars of our street-facing room so we could evaluate it. The bed was decent, but the footboard was a problem for one of us who likes to stretch out. The breakfast was tasty and they accommodated a gluten-free member of our party.

Room Tip: If you need quiet (even with windows closed) be sure to ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate guest feedback. As you noted we are happy to accommodate a gluten free diet as we did with your party and thank you for rating us 4 or 5 bullet points (5 being the highest possible) in all categories except for the sleep quality. To address your concern for the room, you did book 10 days prior to arrival, which at high season in Ashland, is as you say considered late booking. The room you booked was the last room we had available and yes, the room is at the front of the house and guests often purposely book the room as it boasts a private balcony. It's unfortunate you were unhappy with the sleep quality of the room, but I can honestly say no other guest has expressed dissatisfaction with the room and/or the quality of the night's rest as Ashland's Main Street goes to sleep by 10:00 p.m. each evening. The bed is a standard queen and the head/foot boards are period pieces. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Delightful room (Abigail garden) with king size bed. Delicious breakfast. Charming host and hostess. The only caveat is that it is a bit away from the center of town, a bit of a walk, especially at night.

Room Tip: The garden room has a separate entrance in the back. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we're glad you enjoyed the privacy of Abigail's Garden room. Our inn is 5 blocks from the plaza and a comfortable 10 - 12 minute walk to the OSF theaters on level well-lit city sidewalks. We find the majority of our guests enjoy the walk. Once again, thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is an excellent B&B. We stayed in the private cottage. They did mislead us about one thing: the breakfast was much better than a continental breakfast! It was varied each day, generous in serving size, and accommodating of dietary needs (vegetarian and GF).

There is nothing that could be improved. (Might be at the far range of walking to the theaters if you're not a walker, but really it's only about 10 minutes.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankHWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you, Ian, for taking the time to write such a nice review for Abigail's cottage. It's always good to know our guests enjoyed their stay. We do classify the tray as a continental breakfast, but we try to step it up a notch and provide what we feel our guests will enjoy. Glad to know it works!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a delightful stay that we had at Abigail's B and B! The inn keepers thought of everything a person could want during their stay, from cushions and blankets for outdoor plays, to a beautiful accessible garden space, to always available drinks and goodies. And the breakfast! Amazing! I think I must have gained 10 pounds from indulging in the varied and delicious menu! I hope to return to the inn the next time I am in Ashland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you Martie for the lovely review, it was fun to have you and your sister and friend stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future and in the meantime we'll see you on Facebook! Best ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just like being home, or at Grandma's house, that’s what our stay at Ashland’s Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn was like in July. Offerings of sumptuous breakfasts in the newly redecorated dining room, and cookies or muffins with our tea at mid-day on the front porch scored a FIVE in our book. Dining with companionable guests is one of the highlights of staying at a Bed & Breakfast, and Abigail’s is no exception. The courses were so delicious and filling, that when we set off for a day of site-seeing, we didn’t dine until after the lunch hour, thus avoiding crowds.

We stayed in the Abigail Rockefeller room that overlooks the tidy, flower filled garden. Gardeners at heart, we particularly enjoyed the lovely flower gardens in the front, side and back yard. With fresh paint, wallpaper, carpeting, and a new flat-screen television, our room welcomed us after enjoying the eclectic sites of Southern Oregon and evenings of plays at the Shakespearean Festival and the Oregon Cabaret Theater. Innkeepers, Patti and Abi, recommended several places to eat and visit, and on our day trip to Crater Lake, we stopped at the Rogue River Overlook, a site not to be missed.

One of best things about Abigail's is the location, which allows for an easy walk to downtown Ashland. We plan on making a return trip in 2013, and we will definitely book with Abigail’s Bed and Breakfast Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you Donelle. It was so fun getting to know you and then just a couple of weeks later having the pleasure of getting to know your in-laws, it was the K-family special! We gratefully appreciate the kind review and we look forward to your return visit, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Abi and Patti are an awesome team hosting guests and providing a wealth of resources to enjoy the Ashland area. Their attention to details in the B and B make guests feel very welcome and pampered. They truly think of everything! Not to mention that the house is beautiful and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious, and they happily accommodated special dietary needs. They could teach others how it's done! Can't say enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail M, Owner at Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we appreciate the kind words and we very much look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
3.2 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.7 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 451 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn is located within an easy 15 minute walk to the heart of the Oregon Shakespearean Festival Theater District as well as the town Plaza, Lithia Park, Boutique Shopping and Gourmet Restaurants. One of Ashland's premier BnBs', Abigail's was built in 1904 and offers charming Craftsman details. Abigail's has 5 upgraded en-suite guest rooms with new carpeting and black-out blinds. Each room has individual A/C heating units as well as Cable TV, Coffee/Tea making facilities, Free Wi-Fi, Guest Amenities and Hair Dryers. A complimentary gourmet 2 course breakfast from scratch is served at 9 am every morning. Complimentary beverages, snacks and home baked goods are available 24/7. Abigail's two bedroom Vacation Cottage with self-catering facilities is an option for those looking for more solitude. Beautifully detailed gardens, a large relaxing front porch that offers views of the distant hills and a private back deck which is a perfect place to hang out whilst relaxing with an early evening glass of wine. ** The vacation cottage and main house are not pet-friendly. Children 14-years and older are welcome in the main house, children of all ages are welcome in the vacation cottage. A non-smoking/vaping property.** Abigail's is located on a main bus route, is a 20 minute drive from Medford Airport and a 10 minute drive to the SOU University. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing