We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chanticleer Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We love staying at the Chanticleer. It is centrally located,
the grounds are beautiful and provide a relaxing environment,
and the breakfasts are excellant. Howie and Ellen are
warm and welcoming. We always look forward to the great
conversation around the breakfast table.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank dglactser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 310 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

Stayed at the Chanticleer for 3 night (August 29-Sep 1, 2007). The B&B is in a very quiet neighborhood and the home is in fantastic condition. Ellen (innkeeper - along with Howie!) met us after their regular check-in hours as we were travelling all day. She gave us some great recommendations for a late-night dinner and gave us a great overview of Ashland.

The B&B is a three-block walk to the main shopping/eating area of Ashland...it is a three block walk up and down a fairly good sized hill. Be prepared! We were in Ashland mainly for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The Chanticleer is approximately six blocks from the OSF. Each night, we had an enjoyable time finding a place to have dinner, see a play and stroll back to the B&B.

The breakfasts - both the food and the conversation - were, also, excellent! Ellen's food and Howie's conversation made the morning's quite enjoyable!

I believe that we had the smallest room in the house - The Maitre - and the room was great! Huge windows opened to a stunning view of the hills surrounding Ashland, there was a private bath with great locally produced shampoo/soap, the bed was incredibly comfortable, air conditioning worked very well.

Overall, we absolutely loved everything about this place! We will definitely be booking here again for our next stay in Ashland!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GoBrewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We were in Ashland for a wedding and opted to stay at the Chanticleer Inn. The accomodations were wonderful, the hosts were extremely gracious and helpful, and the breakfast was outstanding. We will definitely stay at the Chanticleer when we're in Ashland again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eltahcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

This inn is very well located, near everything in downtown Ashland but also up a relatively quiet street. Howie and Ellen, the innkeepers, have superbly fixed the place up, and it looks both authentic and modern at the same time. Breakfasts are interesting and nourishing, and the bedrooms comfortable and well furnished. Howie knows a lot about hiking, wild flowers and other outdoor activities of the area, and Ellen runs a well organized and efficient enterprise. We would certainly return.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank traveled058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We were guests at the Chanticleer Inn this weekend and it was perfect in every way. My husband and I especially enjoyed the gardens and peaceful outdoor seating areas, including the hammock and the koi pond. It felt like we were the only guests in the evenings as there was virtually no noise that could be heard through the walls of this beautiful Craftsman style home. We also enjoyed the morning coffee and paper on the front porch swing.

The conversation at breakfast was entertaining and diverse. Howie is an incredible host and makes one feel very at home and Ellen is a gracious host and amazing cook.

It was my husband's first experience with a B & B and he was afraid it would be " stuffy". They have done an exceptional job of balancing class and sophistication with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

The bed was very comfortable and there was air conditioning in our room that we could control on our own.The walk to the restaurants and theaters was perfect for us. It may be a little difficult for those with arthritis or other health issues as there is a bit of a hill on the way back. The parking at the Inn is very convenient and it would not be much of a hassle to drive if one had to.

We will be making this an annual tradition and will even request our same room, the Jardin room right off the garden.

We would HIGHLY recommend this Inn to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbartPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Chanticleer Inn. We found it through the Ashland Shakespeare Festival website, and it was very easy to book a room (in maybe February--book early!). Ellen, the innkeeper, responded to our e-mail immediately, and was willing to take a credit card as a deposit. We chose the inn because it looked charming in the ad, the price was reasonable, and it was within walking distance of the festival theatres.
Our stay was everything we expected! Our room was cozy and warm, but air conditioned (during the 104-degree temps, that was important). The neighborhood was quiet and quaint. The walk was refreshing, and just far enough to make us feel we got some good exercise. The breakfasts were delicious! Ellen made some of her original recipes, accomodating my vegitarianism and indulging my husband, a carnivore! She also accomodated late breakfasts for us two days in a row so we could take yoga classes in a nearby yoga studio. Unexpected: great scent-free soap, lotion, shampoo, and conditioner, made especially for the inn and available for sale there.
Howie, the other innkeeper, was a charming host, conversant and interested in a wide variety of topics as well. The Chanticleer Inn was the perfect compliment to our Shakespearian experience! It has our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bartonaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My husband and I just came home from our first stay at the Chanticleer Inn and have promiced ourselves and the innkeepers that we will be back. Ellen and Howie are such gracious hosts that one forgets one is staying in a commercial inn rather than staying in a friends home. Our room, just off the beautiful garden, was large, full of light and spotless. The breaksfasts were some of the best we've ever had in a B&B and the conversation rich and varied. One morning we were still sitting at the table at 11:30 AM.

The inn is up a hill from the main street and it felt mighty steep in hot weather, but it truly is a convenient spot. One can park the car and leave it for the complete stay if you are reasonably fit.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Address: 120 Gresham St, Ashland, OR 97520-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $165 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — near the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, downtown, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. Book directly on Chanticleer Inn's website for best price and availability. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. Chanticleer Inn is recognized Bike Friendly™ by Travel Oregon! The garden level rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing