We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the chanticlear”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chanticleer Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this delightful little Inn that was located within walking distance of the Shakespeare Festival. From the moment I walked in, I was greeted by very friendly guests ( the Owner was in the kitchen baking a delightful smelling loaf of bread).It was like being in your own home, the guests all shared the living room, which was very nice as it was a place for interesting conversation which the owner's Howie and Ellen sat with u all and joined in the conversations. After a delightful trip to the plays and other festivities, it was nice to come back to such a wonderful place.Breakfast in the morning was all freshly prepared by Ellen and it was a culinary delight! I can't say enough about the atmosphere, cleanliness, lovely conversation. It is just a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yewtree88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 310 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2008

Delightful Chanticleer Inn

We found Chanticleer Inn to be convenient to the Shakespeare Festival and downtown Ashland. Also it was most comfortable and attractive. We enjoyed the ground level room with the king size bed and exterior entrance onto the charming patio and koi pond.
The breakfasts were delicious and just the right size. Ellen and Howie Campbell, our hosts, were welcoming and engaging.
Chanticleer definitely warrants a return visit.

Bob and Janie Stevens
Evanston, Illinois

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jhs1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

The inn is lovely in decor and comfort, and immaculately clean. Ellen attends promptly to guests every need. We have not stayed at Chanticleer Inn in many years, and it was a pleasure to return. The one annoying factor to us - and obviously to other guests - was the non-stop talking of the host. We are sure he was anxious to facilitate conversation among the guests. He is a very intelligent gentleman, knowledgeable on many subjects but dominates discussions, precluding interactions among others. Perhaps this has never been mentioned before but Howie would want to address it if he was aware of this trait.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank BainbridgeIslandOrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

The Chanticleer Inn was a wonderful place to stay. Ellen and Howie were excellent hosts. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Jardin when we arrived. Ellen also made a great recommendation for a play to see and places to eat dinner.

The Inn is conveniently located walking distance from the main part of town. It is very nice with a comfy bed and all the amenities that one needs. Breakfast was delicious and conversation at breakfast was great. Howie and Ellen are very well-traveled and well-read people. The rate was very affordable as well.

We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a bed and breakfast in Ashland.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sfgrl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This is a wonderful, restful B&B. Ellen and Howie are amazing innkeepers. We've stayed there three or four times now and have enjoyed every visit. The room, the food, and the conversation are all top rate. We only stay elsewhere if the Chanticleer is full.

Another plus is that it is within walking distance to the Shakespeare Festival and downtown.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Warm, welcoming and relaxing, and the food is outstanding. Howie and Ellen are inviting hosts, and the Inn itself is lovely, clean, and very comfortable. It is an easy walk to downtown and the theaters, but a brutal climb at the end of a bike ride (but worth it, for the cookies!)

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mortirolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Chanticleer Inn in early March. We booked one of the larger rooms at the top of the stairs and were more than satisfied - comfortable, nicely decorated and clean. The Inn is two blocks west of Main Street - close to shops, restaurants and the Shakespeare Festival complex. Ellen and Howie are wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable of the area - Ellen does a wonderful breakfast each morning (the baked french toast was particularly good).
We very much enjoyed our stay at Chanticleer Inn and will stay there again when we return to Ashland.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.2 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
699 reviews
1 mi away
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Address: 120 Gresham St, Ashland, OR 97520-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $165 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — near the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, downtown, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. Book directly on Chanticleer Inn's website for best price and availability. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. Chanticleer Inn is recognized Bike Friendly™ by Travel Oregon! The garden level rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing