We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chanticleer Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 31 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
portland, oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Warm, welcoming and relaxing, and the food is outstanding. Howie and Ellen are inviting hosts, and the Inn itself is lovely, clean, and very comfortable. It is an easy walk to downtown and the theaters, but a brutal climb at the end of a bike ride (but worth it, for the cookies!)

We'll be back.

  • Liked — the room was fantastic, and it was close to the OSF
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mortirolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
213
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Chanticleer Inn in early March. We booked one of the larger rooms at the top of the stairs and were more than satisfied - comfortable, nicely decorated and clean. The Inn is two blocks west of Main Street - close to shops, restaurants and the Shakespeare Festival complex. Ellen and Howie are wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable of the area - Ellen does a wonderful breakfast each morning (the baked french toast was particularly good).
We very much enjoyed our stay at Chanticleer Inn and will stay there again when we return to Ashland.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Just north of San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2007

The Chanticleer Inn defines hospitality in Ashland. The rooms are beautifully and thoughtfully decorated to complement the craftman style of the home. The meals are first rate and the innkeepers, Ellen and Howie, provide a relaxing atmosphere. It is conveniently located near the festival and the older part of town. If you're looking for a place to call home while you're in Ashland, look no further. Home is at 120 Gresham Street.

  • Liked — The decor, the innkeepers and the location.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IntrinsicNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Wonderful house, accommoding hosts, outstanding location. We came to Ashland to see a couple of plays as well as to kayak on the various lakes in the area. Ellen and Howie were a wealth of information on the area and are, in fact, paddlers themselves! We were able to walk to the theaters, restaurants and shopping during our stay. Deer comfortably fed in the yards near the Inn. Will definitely stay at the Chanticleer the next time I have the opportunity to be in Ashland.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Rene03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We love staying at the Chanticleer. It is centrally located,
the grounds are beautiful and provide a relaxing environment,
and the breakfasts are excellant. Howie and Ellen are
warm and welcoming. We always look forward to the great
conversation around the breakfast table.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank dglactser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Stayed at the Chanticleer for 3 night (August 29-Sep 1, 2007). The B&B is in a very quiet neighborhood and the home is in fantastic condition. Ellen (innkeeper - along with Howie!) met us after their regular check-in hours as we were travelling all day. She gave us some great recommendations for a late-night dinner and gave us a great overview of Ashland.

The B&B is a three-block walk to the main shopping/eating area of Ashland...it is a three block walk up and down a fairly good sized hill. Be prepared! We were in Ashland mainly for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The Chanticleer is approximately six blocks from the OSF. Each night, we had an enjoyable time finding a place to have dinner, see a play and stroll back to the B&B.

The breakfasts - both the food and the conversation - were, also, excellent! Ellen's food and Howie's conversation made the morning's quite enjoyable!

I believe that we had the smallest room in the house - The Maitre - and the room was great! Huge windows opened to a stunning view of the hills surrounding Ashland, there was a private bath with great locally produced shampoo/soap, the bed was incredibly comfortable, air conditioning worked very well.

Overall, we absolutely loved everything about this place! We will definitely be booking here again for our next stay in Ashland!

  • Liked — Ellen & Howie! Also, this B&B has Wi-Fi!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBrewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We were in Ashland for a wedding and opted to stay at the Chanticleer Inn. The accomodations were wonderful, the hosts were extremely gracious and helpful, and the breakfast was outstanding. We will definitely stay at the Chanticleer when we're in Ashland again. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eltahcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.6 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#4 of 19 in Ashland
684 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
808 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Property: Chanticleer Inn B&B
Address: 120 Gresham St, Ashland, OR 97520-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — near the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, downtown, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. Book directly on Chanticleer Inn's website for best price and availability. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. Chanticleer Inn is recognized Bike Friendly™ by Travel Oregon! The garden level rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing