We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Ashland, OR”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chanticleer Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 30 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Chanticleer Inn in Ashland, Oregon, in mid-July and had a wonderful experience. The Inn itself is quiet and inviting, and just a few blocks from the center of town. Our room (Jardin) was spacious, sunny and beautifully appointed, with just the right touches. Ellen and her staff were very friendly, Ellen is a great source of information not only about Ashland, but about the whole area. In addition to the breakfasts being fabulous, Ellen graciously accommodated our dietary requests (my husband has dietary restrictions) in great fashion. What she served us each morning far exceeded our expectations. We would recommend the Chanticleer Inn without hesitation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanLLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Susan,

Thank you for your awesome review.
I very much enjoyed having you two here! That cooking to your dietary requirements thing? No, problem! More of us should be eating like the both of you! ;-)

with warmest regards,
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 310 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We've been coming to the Chantecler B and B for 3 years now. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Ellen is a gracious host. Breakfasts are great of course and it's a wonderful walk to the theatres. What sets this place off? There's a magic about it. It's restful and exquisite and the grounds are extensive. Sometimes we just sit and watch orange and blue dragon flies on the water lilies. It's two blocks off Main but more like a destination after time travel. We look forward to the plays and this grand B and B every year!

Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

In our 7 night visit to Oregon (Portland, Lincoln City, and Ashland) we stayed in 3 different hotels and The Chanticleer Inn B&B. Our stay in this delightful Inn was the highlight of our trip! The Inn is lovely and Ellen treated us like family. We were traveling with our daughter who was looking at colleges to attend in a year, and Ellen treated the three of us not only with respect, but with genuine interest. This enhanced our family time together which we are feeling is very precious and becoming more rare at this stage of our lives.
The breakfasts were delicious; the company delightful; the garden and sitting areas inviting; and the beds and rooms so very comfortable. I rely on Trip Advisor for reviews, and was not disappointed by the rave reviews previously posted for Ellen the Inn Keeper and Chanticleer Inn. We only hope to return for a stay in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjbColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear CJBColorado,

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to see your family relax and enjoy themselves, even while going through the college selection process. I know she'll do well, wherever she lands!

Again thanks for the review, yours
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Chanticleer is within walking distance of everything in downtown Ashland and has an immaculate garden. Ellen is friendly, makes fabulous breakfasts, and is very kind to her doggie visitors. She also shared another natural gem to visit on the way to our next stop to Crater Lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your very nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, glad you stopped by Natural Bridge on your way to Crater Lake.

warmly,
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had such a relaxing three night visit at the Chanticleer which hit all bases: The room (Jardin) was immaculate, large, had beautiful views of Ellen's gorgeous garden and had a private entrance. The location was perfect - in a residential area just blocks from town, the theaters and Lithia Park - provided your legs are sturdy enough to hike the steep hill. Breakfasts were delicious and prepared to dietary requests, and Ellen was/is just a delightful and interesting host. Wifi was speedy.

Our visit was at the beginning of 'the season' and so one night we were the only guests and the other two nights each had another room occupied. We never heard anyone.

We were in Ashland to explore, not attend the theater, and so the late breakfast at 9 am was much later than the 7 am that we might prefer, but most B&B's serve later in the morning... and theater goers - the main audience for lodging in Ashland - are likely to want to sleep in.

Look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

I truly enjoyed hosting you! Thank you for the kind review.
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

There are many B&Bs in Ashland, and over the years we have stayed in many different ones. Our most recent stay was at the Chanticleer, and it is easy to see why it receives such consistently high ratings. Ellen, the Inn Keeper, makes one feel welcome and comfortable, and serves creative, tasty breakfasts. This B&B is a great pick for those looking to have a pleasant experience within easy walking distance of the plays, shops and Lithia Park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay. It was delightful to meet all of you. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our stay at the Chanticleer Inn was simply wonderful. Our room was comfortable and charming and the garden was lovely for walking around and sipping some wine in the evening. Ellen was a marvelous host, and provided us with some excellent advice. And her breakfasts were just about perfect. We are already looking forward to another trip and another stay at the Chanticleer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCampbell, Owner at Chanticleer Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for your very kind comments. I enjoyed hosting you two and observing how much time you spent in my garden! -- Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.4 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
0.2 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Abigail's Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.5 mi away
McCall House
McCall House
#5 of 30 in Ashland
262 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn B&B

Address: 120 Gresham St, Ashland, OR 97520-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $165 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant welcoming 1920 Craftsman in Ashland's historic neighborhood — near the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, downtown, restaurants, galleries, and Lithia Park. Book directly on Chanticleer Inn's website for best price and availability. The Chanticleer Inn B&B offers comfortable quiet rooms, full gourmet breakfasts, and stunning views of the Cascade Mountains. Chanticleer Inn is recognized Bike Friendly™ by Travel Oregon! The garden level rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing