We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“THE perfect Shakespeare Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arden Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden Forest Inn
Ranked #15 of 32 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“THE perfect Shakespeare Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

This is our third year staying at the Arden Forest Inn for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The Innkeepers, Bill and Corbet were true to form, absolutely delightful. The breakfasts were a daily highlight. The food was fresh and tasty; the company was stimulating, hilarious, and enjoyable. Bill and Corbet lead engaging discussions about the plays we attended the night before--and the conversation can go in any fun, and even educational direction. We brought another couple this year and met a couple from a previous year. We have already booked the inn for next year, the next after that, and FOREVER! We love this experience with Bill and Corbet --each year we leave with memories of great plays, and conversations that make us smile and laugh throughout the year. The rooms are excellent, the yard with hammock and gazebo is relaxing, the pool is refreshing and a great place to have a BBQ or Wine and cheese. We love this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

This was our second stay at the Arden Forest Inn and like last time it was a wonderful experience. Bill and Corbet are such delightful hosts and truly make you feel like family. My favorite part of the Arden Forest Inn is the breakfast with all the other guests. We aren't experienced theater goers and always learn so much during this time. Not to mention the food is delicious!

The Inn is also very close to downtown Ashland and the theaters so you can easily walk and don't have to worry about parking. We have stayed in two of the rooms and both were great!

I can't recommend the Arden Forest enough, we are already planning our trip back next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoecutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We just enjoyed our 6th or 7th annual stay at Arden Forest. The hosts are knowledgeable and fun, so we have great breakfasts discussing the season's plays with them and other guests. We enjoy the short walk to town, lounging at the swimming pool between performances, and the lovely garden setting.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loietil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Double your fun while in Ashland. Stay at Arden Forest Inn (AFI). My wife and I have been spending 1 or 2 weeks there every year since it opened. If you like comfortable surroundings and delicious breakfasts, stay at AFI. If you like great conversations about theatre, movies, books, or other unlimited fun topics, stay at AFI. If you want to meet new people and gain new friends, stay at AFI. The innkeepers, Bill and Corbet, will astound you with their intelligence and their humor. This is THE BEST destination in town and you will want to return year after year. We just love AFI. Can you tell?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb_Dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

Corbet and Bill, owners of the Arden Forest Inn B&B create a casual, friendly and relaxing atmosphere that only gets better every year we visit. The Breakfasts Bill prepares are fabulous and the conversations each morning are not to be missed. Plus, they have the most beautiful park-like garden that is just perfect for afternoon reading while enjoying a glass of wine. This was our 8th year attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and staying at the Arden Forest Inn, we would not stay at any other place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramma65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

As we walked into the Arden we were greeted by gracious and knowledgeable co hosts. The facility was beautiful. The Main house was nicely decorated and well appointed with a vast library, access to the internet, and a huge bowl of M&M's on the dining room table. Guests had total access to the main house and gardens. The garden was stunning with many private sitting areas, a pool, a gazebo, water fountain, wind chimes, and hammock. I think my favorite time was laying on the grass under the shade of a tree reading a book on a lazy Sunday afternoon. It was so relaxing. The comfortable room was well appointed and quality toiletries were provided. One of the many highlights of the Inn was the group breakfast. The food was tasty and generous. Our hosts sat with us at breakfast and provided reviews, recommendations for the many theatres, concerts and art events that were taking place in town as well as just plain interesting conversation. The Inn is within walking distance to everything. Do wear comfortable shoes however. Parking is a pain in town so our suggestion is to leave your car at the Inn and walk. The area is safe. However, if you are going to an evening play bring a flashlight for your return. The main street is well lit and there are a lot of people walking but once you get into the residencial area there aren't as many lights.
On a finale note, this was our first time here so we didn't know what to expect. During our visit we discovered that two of the guests had been coming here for over 10 years and they brought guests with them! If that isn't a testimonial I don't know what is. We loved our stay and we will come back.
Frank and Arvada Spina 2009

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arvaspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently returned from our second stay at the Arden Forest Inn and are already looking forward to going back again next summer. Hands down it is our favorite bed and breakfast….anywhere. Like most people who head to Ashland, the obvious draw is the shows put on by the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. However, Bill and Corbet also provide an event not to be missed at breakfast every morning. With everyone gathered around the same table, conversation initially revolves around the local theater scene but can quickly diverge to other diverse topics, ranging from deep and philosophical to hilarious. Due to the fact that so many people return again and again to the Inn, and because some have standing reservations for the same dates, you have the opportunity to build relationships with the people you meet and get to know around the table. For my boyfriend and I this is the most important part of our stay. Yes, the food is fabulous; Yes, the rooms are great; Yes, there is a pool (and it’s heated!); Yes, the Inn is within walking distance of downtown. But what we really love is that Bill and Corbet create such a fun, and social atmosphere. Plus, it is always interesting to see what quirky shirt Corbet is going to wear each morning to breakfast.

See you again next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
3.0 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.9 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Forest Inn

Property: Arden Forest Inn
Address: 261 West Hersey Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1721
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the cares of everyday life and experience the majesty of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival at our Ashland, Oregon B&B. Our comfy rooms, amazing breakfasts and gracious service stand apart from all other Ashland bed and breakfasts. Take advantage of our staff’s extensive theatre knowledge while you enjoy a dip in the pool or stroll in our enchanting gardens. Discover an escape from the ordinary Ashland, Oregon hotel at the Arden Forest Inn. ~ A Special Thanks ~To all of the many loyal guests and friends of Arden Forest Inn, we wish to offer our most heartfelt thanks for the extraordinary love and support sent our way this past year during the most challenging time of our lives. Bill's transplant was very successful and he is expected to be back - 100% - creating his culinary magic in the coming year. Both Corbet and Bill are looking forward to seeing all of you in 2013. For all the guests that we did not get to meet last year due to our absence we are sorry you didn't get to have the full Arden Forest experience, but we look forward to the possibility of meeting you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arden Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing