We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our favorite B&B...anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden Forest Inn
Ranked #15 of 32 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite B&B...anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently returned from our second stay at the Arden Forest Inn and are already looking forward to going back again next summer. Hands down it is our favorite bed and breakfast….anywhere. Like most people who head to Ashland, the obvious draw is the shows put on by the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. However, Bill and Corbet also provide an event not to be missed at breakfast every morning. With everyone gathered around the same table, conversation initially revolves around the local theater scene but can quickly diverge to other diverse topics, ranging from deep and philosophical to hilarious. Due to the fact that so many people return again and again to the Inn, and because some have standing reservations for the same dates, you have the opportunity to build relationships with the people you meet and get to know around the table. For my boyfriend and I this is the most important part of our stay. Yes, the food is fabulous; Yes, the rooms are great; Yes, there is a pool (and it’s heated!); Yes, the Inn is within walking distance of downtown. But what we really love is that Bill and Corbet create such a fun, and social atmosphere. Plus, it is always interesting to see what quirky shirt Corbet is going to wear each morning to breakfast.

See you again next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We have been OSF members for 20 years and for a decade we have thoroughly enjoyed our annual stay at the Arden Forest Inn. The rooms are impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. We always feel at home because the innkeepers are helpful, informative and make every visit a special one. Each morning, while enjoying a gourmet breakfast, discussions include a wide range of theatrical topics and are always thought provoking, spirited and inspiring.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjlemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I think this was our sixth consecutive year visiting the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and staying at our favorite B&B, the Arden Forest Inn. You couldn't ask for better hosts than Bill and Corbet. Excellent conversation about life, the arts and particularly theater filled our mornings, along with incredibly delicious and healthy breakfasts. The Inn always seems to attract very friendly and interesting guests. The garden is a beautiful place to relax, with a hammock and a refreshing pool on the grounds. The rooms are always comfortable and charming. Everything is well prepared. They definitely have the right touch. The Inn is also just a short walk to the three OSF theaters and Lithia Park, a great place to stroll, jog or hike. We'll certainly come back and visit again next season too!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sports&TheaterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

For 12 years we have stayed at Arden Forest when we make our yearly visit to Ashland, OR. We look forward to the outstanding plays at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, enjoying the lovely town and its shops, restaurants and ambiance. We relish the incredible breakfasts and appreciate the warm welcome we receive from Bill and Corbett. The discussion of plays during breakfast and when visiting with other guests enriches our experience. We highly recommend Ashland and the Arden Forest Inn.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OpheliaChicoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I have been coming to Arden Forest Inn for more than a decade and it always invokes a special feeling of peace, where every detail has been considered for our comfort. The breakfasts are always amazing and beautifully presented but the table covnersation is equally amazing. Arden Forest Inn attracts a special kind of person because the proprietors, Bill and Corbett, are very special themselves.

I have brought a number of different friends over the years and they have all been delighted by this experience and we all marvel at the synergy of well appointed rooms and grounds (they even have a pool!) , an attentive and friendly staff, and and the well-travelled and highly educated theatre fans that surround you at the table. It really seems like a kind of fun salon and I am always happy to have the in-depth discussion of the plays with my fellow travelers wihich so enhances the entire experience that is The Ashland Shakespeare Festival.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmgauntess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

I have never been a fan of B&Bs. I admit to being slightly anti-social and not very comfortable meeting new people, but from the minute I met Corbett and Bill(the owners), I knew my stay would be extraordinary. From the beautiful rooms, to the tranquil gardens, this is a B&B like no other I've experienced before. Your hosts will make you feel like family as you sit around the breakfast table amongst your fellow travelers discussing a multitude of topics. Bill and Corbett, and often the other guests, always offer useful critique of the plays at the Shakepeare Festival. I have even gone to see a couple of plays that I might otherwise have avoided because of the suggestions and have yet to be disappointed. Believe it or not, as much as I love the Shakespeare Fest, Arden Forest,along with Bill and Corbett, are probably more the reasons I have made Ashland a frequent vacation spot and I hope you make it your special vacation spot too.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ck1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
work
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

My daughter and I always take one summer vacation alone. She is an avid lover of theater—hence Ashland. This is the second time we have stayed at the Arden Inn and will again this summer. The proprietors, Bill and Corbin have an extensive background in theater and are intimately involved with the Ashland experience. Although perhaps not "elegant” in the strict sense, their space is an emotional oasis replete with good feelings in which one can relax, read, and interact with the other patrons at your leisure.
Their breakfasts are the highlight—superb food and conversation with all seated at the long dining table. Hours can pass during the interesting and eclectic discussions.
Bill and Corbin always have the best recommendations for plays to attend and restaurants to dine. They constantly care for their “guests.” I have found that most of their patrons are long time guests who return again and again.
I cannot recommend the Arden Inn more, just come and enjoy!

  • Liked — The proprietors
  • Disliked — A little far away from the town center.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
3.0 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.9 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Forest Inn

Property: Arden Forest Inn
Address: 261 West Hersey Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1721
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the cares of everyday life and experience the majesty of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival at our Ashland, Oregon B&B. Our comfy rooms, amazing breakfasts and gracious service stand apart from all other Ashland bed and breakfasts. Take advantage of our staff’s extensive theatre knowledge while you enjoy a dip in the pool or stroll in our enchanting gardens. Discover an escape from the ordinary Ashland, Oregon hotel at the Arden Forest Inn. ~ A Special Thanks ~To all of the many loyal guests and friends of Arden Forest Inn, we wish to offer our most heartfelt thanks for the extraordinary love and support sent our way this past year during the most challenging time of our lives. Bill's transplant was very successful and he is expected to be back - 100% - creating his culinary magic in the coming year. Both Corbet and Bill are looking forward to seeing all of you in 2013. For all the guests that we did not get to meet last year due to our absence we are sorry you didn't get to have the full Arden Forest experience, but we look forward to the possibility of meeting you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arden Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing