We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best inn in Ashland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden Forest Inn
Ranked #15 of 32 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best inn in Ashland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've been coming to the festival for 15 years and have stayed at Arden Forest nearly all of those years. There have been times when I couldn't stay at Arden the whole time and have had to book part of my trip somewhere else. So I can tell you, on those days/nights, I long for Arden Forest. The other inns are always nice but there's something so special and unique about Arden Forest. I get my best sleep ever there. I feel so relaxed just walking into the inns gorgeous gardens. I love the pool and the beautiful setting. Breakfasts are to die for! The innkeepers are lively and entertaining. Going to stay there is like going to visit family...the good ones:-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbelle94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a B&B we intend to return to the next time we visit Ashland. The serene atmosphere, the beautiful gardens, the comfortable rooms, the fabulous breakfast with interesting guests, and above all the hosts who made our brief visit so special make this a highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaacovG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our 8th stay at the Arden Forest Inn for the Shakespeare Festival Plays. Every year just keeps getting better. We feel that Bill and Corbet, the hosts, are family. They make outstanding breakfasts and stimulate fun and intelligent discussion at breakfast. Our group from Salem takes 3 of the 5 rooms, and we have become close friends with the other guests that come on the same weekend to stay in the other 2 rooms. The rooms are exquisite, the grounds are beautiful, and we love the swimming pool area. We have already reserved our vacation time at Arden Forest next year! We love the walk to and from the Plays--it is the perfect walking distance to work up an appetite for the fantastic restaurants in Ashland and to stretch the legs before and after a play. We park our car and walk the entire vacation. This venue is the Best B&B we have ever stayed at, and this Vacation is our favorite year after year! Cheers and adulation to Bill and Corbet. They have created an enchanting masterpiece!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We come to Ashland each June to see the plays, but a large part of our enjoyment of this week is staying at Arden Foest Inn. We almost consider it our home away from home. The hosts, Bill and Corbet make breakfast special: Bill's food is wonderful, with a first course of abundant fruit platters, followed by a creative and generous breakfast entree, accompanied with homemade biscuits or rolls. We all sit down togetherat the table, and conversation is always fascinating, usually beginning with the plays we've been seeing, but often ranging to many other topics. Though people are, of course, free to leave when breakfast is over, many stay to talk for a long while, for Corbet and Bill care deeply about the theater and easily build a feeling of community around their guests.

Our room is spacious and restful as is the garden with its gazebo, where we often sit and read. The theaters are a fifteen minute walk, another benefit of this inn. This is the best place to stay in Ashland!

Room Tip: We like room #5 best, but all the rooms are quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Prior to staying at Arden Forest Inn we visited several other B&B's in Ashland, but none compared to the wonderful experience that our hosts Bill and Corbet provided. Accommodations are very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Communal breakfasts are a daily highlight as the food is consistently outstanding, and is coupled with lively conversation providing knowledgeable insights into the current theater offerings, as well as other interesting topics.
An easy walk to OSF and downtown, AFI has a peaceful private garden and gazebo, perfect for pre-theater gatherings, and a small pool in the back to enjoy.
We often stay in unit 2, upstairs in the main house, which has two separate rooms that can easily accommodate 3-4 people. We have traveled from Portland to Ashland twice a year for the last 6+ years and AFI has been our #1 accommodation of choice.
We highly recommend Arden Forest Inn to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPG97205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We travel to Ashland from the Seattle area once or twice a year in order to see the plays at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. We have stayed at several nice places, but this one has become our home in Ashland. We appreciate the fact that the hosts and many of the other guests are interested in the theatre, both in Ashland and elsewhere, and breakfast discussions of what we saw on the previous day are a highlight for us, although we have enjoyed lively conversations on many topics with guests who are visiting Ashland for other reasons. Downtown Ashland is a convenient 10-15 minute walk through a historic area of the town, but we have also immensely enjoyed leisurely afternoons in the peace of the Arden Forest Inn garden. That said, we can understand how some guests might prefer other accommodations. Closet space in the smaller rooms is adequate for us, but not extensive. The swimming pool, while fresh and inviting, is quite small. Breakfasts, while generous and delicious, are communal and served at 9 am, so if you prefer independence or an earlier start to your day, or need more lavish facilities, you might choose a hotel instead But we love the feeling of fellowship and sense of welcome that we experience here and feel no need to look further.

Room Tip: We generally stay in room 1, which is the smallest and least expensive, but opens directly onto the...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Culture_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our family goes with us so we just about take over the inn. Our hosts join us at breakfast and we talk about the plays,the actors and Ashland gossip. Great fun. Ask for the angel biscuits. They are super.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciscodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
3.0 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.9 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Forest Inn

Property: Arden Forest Inn
Address: 261 West Hersey Street, Ashland, OR 97520-1721
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the cares of everyday life and experience the majesty of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival at our Ashland, Oregon B&B. Our comfy rooms, amazing breakfasts and gracious service stand apart from all other Ashland bed and breakfasts. Take advantage of our staff’s extensive theatre knowledge while you enjoy a dip in the pool or stroll in our enchanting gardens. Discover an escape from the ordinary Ashland, Oregon hotel at the Arden Forest Inn. ~ A Special Thanks ~To all of the many loyal guests and friends of Arden Forest Inn, we wish to offer our most heartfelt thanks for the extraordinary love and support sent our way this past year during the most challenging time of our lives. Bill's transplant was very successful and he is expected to be back - 100% - creating his culinary magic in the coming year. Both Corbet and Bill are looking forward to seeing all of you in 2013. For all the guests that we did not get to meet last year due to our absence we are sorry you didn't get to have the full Arden Forest experience, but we look forward to the possibility of meeting you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arden Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing