We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oregon City Oregon, United States
1 review
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel was very quiet and clean. It was very close to the festival venues and restaurants. And their morning buffet breakfast was very very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our vist and the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are so happy that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast. Looking forward to seeing you again, the next time you venture to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    230
    64
    21
    23
See reviews for
212
264
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I am a veteran member and have used TA reviews when travelling worldwide with great success. As a personal policy, I only make positive reviews, however, in this case, an exception must be made. I was on a 3 week trip in Washington and Oregon and made a reservation over the phone at this hotel for the evening of Wednesday, September 18. The young lady on the phone was very hospitable and gave me a rate on the phone, which she confirmed by email. When I arrived to check in on the afternoon of Sept 18, the young man at reception asked me to sign for a rate which was higher that that given to me. I explained that the rate quoted was incorrect. Instead of looking into the matter, he insisted that I produce proof of the rate quoted to me to the point that he insisted that I retrieve my computer from my car and show him the rate confirmed to me. While in the process of doing so, he realized that he had made an error. While mistakes do happen, this young man thought so highly of himself and was so arrogant that he couldn't even say he was sorry for what had transpired. I really believe that this hotel should review people skills with certain of their staff. The next evening I booked into the Best Western at Mt Hood and the courtesy on check in was exceptional. Please do not take this as a negative in terms of the rooms at this hotel as they are very nice and the BW chain in general has done a great job to enhance their hotel branding . However, it only takes one individual at a member hotel to make a sour impression.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCloud99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology for the actions of our Front Desk Clerk. You should never have to suffer that kind of treatment at our property and I have followed up with the associate you dealt with and he understands that he did not treat you reasonably or fairly. Thank you for staying with us as well as bringing this to our attention so that we could use the incident as a "training opportunity." I hope that you will give us another try to give you a superior experience in the future.
Sincerely,
Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Bard is an excellent choice for "Theater Goers" in Ashland, Oregon. It is a very short walk past lovely shops, restaurants and a small bridge over the river. A great resource when planning your trip to Ashland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice review of our property. We hope to see you again the next time

your travels bring you to our wonderful city.

Sincerely,

Holly H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Bard's Inn is more expensive than the other Best Western in Ashland, but it's all about the location. You can walk to everything so it's definitely worth it. The beds were comfortable and the room was fairly large. As others have mentioned, the breakfast offered lots of choices, both hot and cold. I'd recommend the Bard's Inn to anyone who wants an above-average Best Western in a great location. We were upstairs and found it to be very quiet.

Room Tip: As with most older motels that have been refurbished, ask for an upstairs room if you are concerned...
See more room tips
Green Features: Separate container in room for certain recyclable materials.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear SuzC,

I am so happy that you popped into Ashland and stayed with us. I agree that we have a great complimentary breakfast. We try our best to offer multiple fresh options for our guests so that everyone can choose what they would like to eat each morning. Thank you for your kind words and we will see you the next time you stop in Ashland.

See you soon!

Ally T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room was attractively decorated and the location was excellent, but there was noise from the room above the whole night which made our stay less than perfect. Air conditioning had to be turned off at some point in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Betty P.,

I am so pleased that you liked our reciently renovated rooms. I am sorry that the guests above you were making excessive noise during your stay. That can be a very frustrating experience and I am sorry about that. We will have to get you on a top floor for your next stay.

Take Care,

Ally T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, UT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two days. It is centrally located in Ashland within walking distance of the Shakespeare Theatre. On the first night there I walked over to the Theatre to see a Shakespeare play. The room was very nice and quiet. The free breakfast was very good. The hotel is also about 90 miles from Crater Lake which I visited, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twobacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, ASSISTANT MANGER at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Ashland. I agree that we have a perfect location for those who want to enjoy all of the local attractions in the downtown area. It can be a little stressful during the summertime months to find parking in the downtown area. I am very happy that you had a fun time while visiting Ashland and the surrounding Southern Oregon areas.

We will see you soon!

Ally T.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stay every year at the Best Western Bard's Inn in Ashland, OR when we attend plays for the Shakespeare Festival. The Bard's Inn is located walking distance to the plays as well as main streets of the community. The Inn always is clean, helpful staff, top-of-the-line breakfasts and reasonable rates for the season.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly H, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear William L. ,

Thank you for choosing the Bard's Inn as your home away from home while visiting Ashland. I am thrilled that you loved our location, breakfast, guest rooms, etc. We have a baker on site which makes the breakfast items fresh each morning. I am so happy that you got to see all the special things that Ashland has to offer. We all hope to see you back in Asjhland very soon.

Ally T.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.0 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
Address: 132 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing