We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY handy to the downtown core of Ashland.”
Review of Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bard's Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A fairly conventional motel with nice touches. First, it's just a block from the downtown core (and 3 blocks from the Shakespeare Festival). The rooms are adequate and there is a heated pool/spa. There was free wi-fi and two computer available for general use in the lobby. The host staff was very pleasant and the dining area for the continental breakfast was very spacious and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 874 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

Staff was wonderful and went out of their way to be sure our needs were met. Breakfast was among the best we have had at a hotel. It is not often you get quiche, biscotti plus the usual and for longer available hours.
The theaters and restaurants are within close walking distance. The room was nice with french doors to a balcony.
We will definitely stay there again for our next visit to the Shakespeare Festival.

Room Tip: Several buildings, ours was across street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raingardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel and was extremely pleased. 2 queen beds, very clean, friendly staff and breakfast included in the morning. 2 short blocks to everything in downtown Ashland. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Me and my wife stayed at the Bard's inn during our trip to Ashland to see the Shakespeare festival. The experience was of the highest quality. The hotel is right downtown so it's close to all the main restaurants. It seems as though they gone through some recent renovations so the rooms were very nice and clean. We had a balcony overlooking the city which made for a relaxing location to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The continental breakfast was very good. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip to Ashland.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sideshow810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This beautiful Shakespeare theme hotel rests on both sides of the street and offers covered parking, spotless rooms, and snow peaked mountain views. Walking distance from downtown makes it a relaxing adventure. There will be plenty of intellectuals to pontificate with at breakfeast, which sports grapefruit, sausage, eggs, and even quiche. Locally owned, the staff is proficient and shows interest in each guest. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineOYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

See kkristen review of August 10, 2010--mirrors our experience. The only real plus is the excellent location if attending the Shakespeare Festival. Don't rely on the photos of the building on the website--the photos are primarily of the newer facilities, not of the 152 Main Street location where we stayed. Understand that they will be remodeling this location soon--we hope so. Will say that the included breakfast was very good for this type of situation. While we understand that one pays for location, this was still at least $50 overpriced. We recommend based upon location only.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineauxFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We were first time visitors to Ashland, had our golden retriever with us in a hotel for the first time, wanted to nearby the theatres to see a play. The Bard's Inn provided all that, 3 blocks away from Shakespeare theatres and dog-friendly as well. We had a small room by the main office, with an air conditioner in the window as described here by others, which did an okay job cooling down the room in 100 degree heat (when we were in it.) Perhaps remodeling has occurred since some of the less than glowing reviews on this site--the lobby was beautiful for a Best Western and our room was clean with newer looking carpet, shower curtain, etc. Hotel staff was cheerful and professional. Breakfast was adequate, oh and the play, Twelfth Night, was great!

Dog owner hint: there is a middle school 2 blocks away from the hotel (heading away from town) where you can let your dog run when school is not in session.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.9 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
2.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
703 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bard's Inn

Address: 132 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1730
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#2 Family Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: $126 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing