We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“VERY handy to the downtown core of Ashland.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“VERY handy to the downtown core of Ashland.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

A fairly conventional motel with nice touches. First, it's just a block from the downtown core (and 3 blocks from the Shakespeare Festival). The rooms are adequate and there is a heated pool/spa. There was free wi-fi and two computer available for general use in the lobby. The host staff was very pleasant and the dining area for the continental breakfast was very spacious and nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    237
    65
    22
    23
See reviews for
219
272
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene,Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Staff was wonderful and went out of their way to be sure our needs were met. Breakfast was among the best we have had at a hotel. It is not often you get quiche, biscotti plus the usual and for longer available hours.
The theaters and restaurants are within close walking distance. The room was nice with french doors to a balcony.
We will definitely stay there again for our next visit to the Shakespeare Festival.

Room Tip: Several buildings, ours was across street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raingardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
486 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel and was extremely pleased. 2 queen beds, very clean, friendly staff and breakfast included in the morning. 2 short blocks to everything in downtown Ashland. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sideshow810
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Me and my wife stayed at the Bard's inn during our trip to Ashland to see the Shakespeare festival. The experience was of the highest quality. The hotel is right downtown so it's close to all the main restaurants. It seems as though they gone through some recent renovations so the rooms were very nice and clean. We had a balcony overlooking the city which made for a relaxing location to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The continental breakfast was very good. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip to Ashland.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sideshow810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

This beautiful Shakespeare theme hotel rests on both sides of the street and offers covered parking, spotless rooms, and snow peaked mountain views. Walking distance from downtown makes it a relaxing adventure. There will be plenty of intellectuals to pontificate with at breakfeast, which sports grapefruit, sausage, eggs, and even quiche. Locally owned, the staff is proficient and shows interest in each guest. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineOYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

See kkristen review of August 10, 2010--mirrors our experience. The only real plus is the excellent location if attending the Shakespeare Festival. Don't rely on the photos of the building on the website--the photos are primarily of the newer facilities, not of the 152 Main Street location where we stayed. Understand that they will be remodeling this location soon--we hope so. Will say that the included breakfast was very good for this type of situation. While we understand that one pays for location, this was still at least $50 overpriced. We recommend based upon location only.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WineauxFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We were first time visitors to Ashland, had our golden retriever with us in a hotel for the first time, wanted to nearby the theatres to see a play. The Bard's Inn provided all that, 3 blocks away from Shakespeare theatres and dog-friendly as well. We had a small room by the main office, with an air conditioner in the window as described here by others, which did an okay job cooling down the room in 100 degree heat (when we were in it.) Perhaps remodeling has occurred since some of the less than glowing reviews on this site--the lobby was beautiful for a Best Western and our room was clean with newer looking carpet, shower curtain, etc. Hotel staff was cheerful and professional. Breakfast was adequate, oh and the play, Twelfth Night, was great!

Dog owner hint: there is a middle school 2 blocks away from the hotel (heading away from town) where you can let your dog run when school is not in session.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.0 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
Address: 132 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ashland
#1 Business Hotel in Ashland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#4 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bard`s Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing