We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the flexibility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Windsor Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We loved the flexibility”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here twice, once on the way down to California and once on the way back. This was not a pleasure trip for us, and it was nice to know that this hotel was a very familiar stopping point for us on our journey. On our way down, we were in room 111. It appeared to be a recently remodeled room, and very nicely done. The staff at the front desk were so nice to even give us a menu to the restaurant next door and that made it so much easier when we were exhausted.

When we came back, we had to adjust our schedule by one day, and all that I had to do was to contact the staff and not only did they have no issue with the change, they upgraded us to a suite, unit 401. It was quite nice, really more than we needed for just one night but a refreshing switch from the very small hotel room. Something we will definitely keep in mind for future trips through the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makauff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    312
    70
    22
    15
See reviews for
360
338
75
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I needed a place to overnight in Ashland, and since it was a spur of the moment trip, we had trouble finding any kind of accomodation near the downtown area . I checked with Triple A and a king size room was available at this hotel for around $116 a night. The hotel is located in a non-descript area near the freeway. Surprisingly, it was quiet. The hotel does offer a shuttle to the Shakespeare festival, but we didn't have trouble finding parking and were glad we drove ourselves into town. The room was very clean and there is a free breakfast included with your stay. We opted to have breakfast at Isabel's Dragonfly, which we highly recommend (nice patio area). Best Western does have another property right in town (the Bard's Inn), which is totally convenien,t but looks like it fills quickly. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you aren't looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alverda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We are former Ashland residents, so we know the town well, and know that there is a huge range of accommodations available, from dumps to over-the-top B&Bs. These days, we're usually just passing through or visiting for a day or two, and just need someplace good but cheap to stay.

We have stayed at the Windsor several times over the last couple of years, and we are quite happy with it. We usually stay in one of the rooms in the southern wing, with the jet tubs. The eastern wing has recently been under renovation, but this last time it was completed and we got a room there, as the rest of the hotel was booked (height of the Theatre season!)

The renovations are very nice - great bed, big flatscreen TV, an armoire instead of an exposed steel rack, updated lighting, etc. However, the only drawback to the room was the outdated AC/heater unit, which has one fan setting: LOUD. This made it hard to sleep. The south wing rooms have newer small wall-mounted units that are a bit finicky, but work well and are quiet.

Our one real complaint about the Windsor is the breakfast. The food and the coffee are quite low quality, and the food seems to be grudgingly doled out in small quantities. TIP: for good coffee while at the hotel, go to the espresso stand across the side street next to the gas station, then go into town for breakfast at Morning Glory, outstanding! We've never tried the restaurant that is next to the hotel office.

Room Tip: ask for a jet-tub room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorch42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I am so thankful to the staff. I arrived close to midnight on a holiday weekend to hoping for an inexpensive room to lay down my head for the night. Silly me- There was so much going on in Ashland that weekend they were sold out. The hotel staff called hotels for me up to 80 miles away, patently staying on the phone with each hotel to try to get me the best deal they could. Fortunately for me, another family that was staying there had rented too many rooms and gave one up- I snatched it. It was a suite and really out of my price range...but after my long drive and seeing that no other hotels within an hours drive had availability I snatched it up. The suite was large, had a fridge and quite possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I stayed for breakfast the next day and was glad to see they had scrambled eggs and sausage to go with the usual fare of cereal and bagels. And a big plus- security in the parking lot- a MUST when you travel and have things sitting in your car. A great experience all around! Thank you Best Western!

Room Tip: book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goerlitz
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hiotel is big and nice incl. Pool and laundry service. The staff was friendly and even though I cam last minutes with competitors already sold out, they did not overcharged.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The hotel is located about five minutes from Old Town Ashland.

The staff is friendly and accommodating. The room was recently updated, fresh paint, new furnishings.

No refrigerators in rooms. No lock on the window...housekeeping brought a pole to place in the window channel for our security

Air conditioner stopped working at 2 am, don't know why, too tired to complain.

Beautiful roses and flowers throughout the grounds which are well-maintained. Pool is clean.

There was no continental breakfast as stated by the web site BECAUSE the staff could not keep up on supplying food for the breakfast!!!! This hotel horribly understaffs their continental breakfast leaving guests frustrated and writing a review like this. We left without eating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetuniaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here one night on a road trip.

I thought this place was priced well and really nice for the money. Modern bedding, roomy rooms, big TV, clean, with a pool, hot tub and breakfast. Even a shuttle to the main drag. Though it's always great to stay in the thick of things, this hotel is a short drive and doesn't break the bank. So, definitely a good stay all-around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.4 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
2.9 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
791 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Windsor Inn

Property: Best Western Windsor Inn
Address: 2520 Ashland St, Ashland, OR 97520-1412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#2 Business Hotel in Ashland
#5 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Windsor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with people who care at the Best Western Windsor Inn! We provide exemplary customer service; clean, recently remodeled rooms; a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast for our guests.Located just off the I-5, the Best Western Windsor Inn is an easy to find, perfect destination for travelers & festival attendees. We offer a complimentary seasonal shuttle to and from Ashland's world famous Oregon Shakespeare Festival.We invite you to come relax in our beautiful gardens and catch some sun in our seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windsor Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing