We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashland's version of an old fashioned diner”

Wild Goose Cafe & Bar
Ranked #43 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ashland's version of an old fashioned diner”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you miss the authentic diners of the 50's and 60's, you'll like this place. Try the fried clam sandwich.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    26
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food at a very fair price”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ate dinner and breakfast here and the food was well prepared. The waitress was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and willing to take the time to describe the dishes. The place was kid friendly and no one trying to hurry you through the meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
739 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Rich food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The food had great flavor but the sauces are too heavy for my taste. Service was fine, no outstanding but acceptable. Overall is was ok but not enough to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank advcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Strange, but good”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We went for dinner because of a discount advertised by our hotel. Ordered salads with dressing on the side and a bottle of wine. Everything arrived IMMEDIATELY. Just taking our first sip of wine, when the salads arrived. About 3 bites into the salad, our entrees arrived. The waitress asked if we wanted them put under the heat lamp for a while, but we feared for the quality after that. Salad was good and dressing was served on the side as we asked. The advertised sourdough bread turned out to be a mushy roll. Husband's pecan crusted chicken was very good, and served with enough potatoes for,a family of four. I had the scallops, which were tender and abundant. They had mushrooms, bacon, and a Dijon cream sauce. There was a lot more bacon than I like, but the whole dish was delicious and far more than I could eat. I had expected vegetables to come with it, but they didn't. The place seems to be a neighborhood hangout, with lots of,the people talking with each other. Looks like a dinner from the 50's. Strange place,but good food. Not sure if we will return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
111 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Oysters Only”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We eat here occasionally for it's convenience as we are in the neighborhood. We've tried all meals and the only thing worth repeating is the oysters which are always on the menu and very good.

DO NOT try the chicken fried steak! The steak is tough with a strange flavor and the crust is soggy. Although easy access from the freeway it is a neighborhood joint with many regular locals. The wait staff are very friendly and down to earth.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lostinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Goose Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Wild Goose Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing