We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great option for dinner before play”
Review of Dragonfly Restaurant - CLOSED

Dragonfly Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: First
Jerome, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great option for dinner before play”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Recommended by our Innkeepers, it turned out to be a great option. It is 1/2 block away from one of the parking garages and 1 block from the Festival. We made reservations and asked for "on the patio in the shade" and that is exactly what we got. The restaurant is large, but divided up into smaller sections inside and outside on the patio so you don't feel like you are dining in a cavern with a crowd. They did have room for larger groups.

Service was smooth, even though you know everyone comes at once and wants to leave before their play starts. The drink menu has some fun cocktails and the fusion food allowed everyone in our group to have something they found exciting. The relleno special was excellent--and that's coming from someone from the Southwest! We would have liked to try them for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GhostTownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    95
    36
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Place to Eat Before Your Play”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our first time eating here and it did not disappoint. The service was excellent. The prices were reasonable. We had cocktails that were not overly sweet, very refreshing on a hot day. Our food was imaginative, a mix of Asian and Latin flavors. The atmosphere feels like you are in a remodeled Victorian home. Its just around the corner fro the theaters on a side street. So we walked over to watch the Green show before our play. We will go back when we are in town again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SCtripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammamish
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Accidents happen, poor service should not”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros: Great outside seating area, very convenient location to the theaters, pretty good food at a reasonable price point.
Cons: Sketchy service. The staff managed to pour soup over one of our party; apologies and a towel were offered. Note to staff: after dumping hot soup on a patron (which forced her to go to the bathroom, wash out her sweater and clean the debris from her hair), something substantial has to happen-the manager needs to come out, cleaning bills offered, and the dinner (not just the soup) comped. Plus, rather than get her a new bowl of soup, they just put down the rest of the bowl on the table! Luckily there were no burns-but can they imagine the potential problems if the soup had been a little hotter? (That being said, my frites could have used a little more heat, as they came to the table little more than room temperature).
The aggrieved patron was amazingly gracious about all this; though afterwards, the staff treated our table as if radioactive, apparently afraid to come back to the scene of the crime-exactly the wrong response.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jpr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Reasonable and Convenient”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My daughter and I were staying at a nearby Hotel and attending the Shakespeare Festival. The restaurant was around the corner from our Hotel. The interior is well done with an outside patio in the back. There is a wide range of food items on the menu. HOWEVER we were a bit forgotten. After we gave our order, and after about 20 minutes, we noticed people who had arrived after us were already eating. We asked our waiter and he said it would be another 5 to 10 minutes. When our food arrived, it was a bit cold. We were by that time in a hurry and didn't want to fuss. So we ate and ran. I'm guessing it was a fluke incidence or something but we would have liked some kind of an apology or explanation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreenQueenColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is our default restaurant for Ashland, the food is always very fresh and the prices are reasonable. The breakfasts compete with Morning Glory (our fav breakfast place), but here, you don't have to wait for a table! The back outdoor patio is magical.
For lunch or dinner I love the Budda Bowls and the Seared Ahi plate. Don't miss the coconut rice.
Yum!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelSueG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing