We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“a GREAT ESCAPE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Pinehurst Inn

Historic Pinehurst Inn
Ranked #20 of 42 things to do in Ashland
Attraction details
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a GREAT ESCAPE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

No fuss, no phone, no TV.Terrific food. A wonderful place to regenerate. A gift from my son -- it was just what we needed!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EXPERT532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Already rated it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's a great place to eat and stay. If you are on your way to Ashland or going from Klamath Falls to Ashland. Stop and stay and eat!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleyjean47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Pinehurst Inn is both a dinner house and a hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated in antique decor (it is, after all, a historic building - an old stage stop on the wagon road that initally was the Applegate Trail). We have not stayed in the rooms, but go up periodically for a fun and delicious dinner. The menu is not extensive, but there is something for everyone (except, unfortunately, no vegan entrees and vegans are not made to feel welcome). Every week there is a special, and these are always good - especially the "cherry cola ribs". The English muffin bread that is served before the meal is amazing. We have always had consistently good food, moderately priced. Donny, the owner, is always good for a laugh - he will introduce himself throughout the evening as "Donny, your host" - "Donny, your waiter" - "Donny, your wine server", Donny, your busboy" etc. - and at the end of the evening, if you're lucky (and usually you are) Donny the entertainer will treat you to several rousing pieces on the piano. Join along in song, if you wish! Casual attire is permitted, and children are welcome. I think the only fault is that many of my family are vegans (who might typically order a salad, baked potato, veggies, and bread) and not only are there no options for them, but the menu jokingly directs vegans to go on to Ashland for a meal rather than stopping here. While it is said in humor, the message is clear and vegans do not feel welcome. It seems like it would not be that difficult to offer a spaghetti marinara or pasta primavera dish for non-meat eaters. But if you are a carnivore, stop in for a meal, even if you dont' stay the night, and be sure to notice that under the highway sign, "open range" - Donny the comedian has placed an old stove (range) with an open oven door... Always good for a laugh.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank GrandmaWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a 30-minute drive out of Ashland for something unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is an old road house, which is still operated as a B&B. It has 5 rooms with very interesting period decor and a good restaurant. I didn't stay -- just had dinner. If you're going to stay overnight when the weather is hot, check with the owners. The large fans in the open windows in the 90-degree evening leads me to believe the rooms may not be air conditioned. The dining room was air conditioned. Dinners are good, basic food -- not fancy, but well prepared. The owners are Donnie, who serves as the waiter and his wife, who is the chef. There are only about 10 tables. So, although I didn't need a reservation, it would be smart to make one, given the winding 30-minute drive. In addition to good, well prepared plates for dinner (chicken, halibut, New York strip, etc.) they also offer inexpensive light dinners and specials, like prime rib, on certain nights. The dinner guests were mostly a mix of locals and overnight guests. I had a good New York steak, prepared as I ordered it, an excellent salad, and a glass of the inexpensive, very drinkable house red. When I asked what the house wine was, Donnie explained that is is whatever they have an abundance of. I think that's a good idea in a small restaurant. That way you don't get a glass of a certain varietal that has been open too long. Prices were reasonable, and it made for a satisfying and interesting evening to get away from the throngs of theater-goers in Ashland.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tourer_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, OR
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC HIDEAWAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Located on the highway between Ashland and Keno, south of Klamath Falls, Pinehurst is in a wooded area removed from the hustle and bustle of everything else. They offer specials on their rooms and meals all the time.

Helpful?
Thank Sunlemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Pinehurst Inn also viewed

 

Been to Historic Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing