We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful place; Close to Shakespeare Festival” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelton Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelton Guest House
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place; Close to Shakespeare Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Pelton House so much! My friend and I stayed in the Manzanita "room" and it was perfect for us. The room was not just one room, but 2 separate bedrooms (each with a Queen bed) and a fantastic private bathroom with a large tub and a steam shower. There was a tv in one of the rooms, but we didn't use it. Free wifi in the rooms worked well for our needs.

The house we stayed in was actually a separate house across the street from the main residence. There were 2 guest rooms downstairs, and our rooms upstairs. We had the whole upstairs to ourselves (other than the shared laundry room, which no one but my friend used when we were there). We had full access to the kitchen, including the lovely tea pots, dishes, etc. Coffee and tea were also available in the kitchen, as were fresh baked treats daily. One of our favorite parts of the stay was the sun room. My friend and I had tea there each day, and sometimes brought dinner back to eat in the gorgeous garden room.

Breakfast was served in the main house, and there was a large table for those who wanted to socialize, and smaller ones for those who did not. Breakfast was delicious, although the meals were high in carbs and sweets ( yummy scones and fruit, followed by delicious, but sweet baked French toast, with no meat, eggs, or other savory type foods the one day; only a very small amount of sausage with meal another). The service at breakfast was wonderful, and the hosts were gracious and accommodating.

The house was very easy walking distance to the Shakespeare Festival theaters, shops, restaurants, and a co op market with great sandwiches.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
32
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this delightful bed and breakfast while taking in some theatre in Ashland. What a great place to stay. The rooms had super comfortable beds and the bathrooms were modern and well appointed. The proprietor and her staff were very friendly and had many helpful hints on getting the most out of our visit. The breakfast they put on in the morning was first class and a great way to start our day in this very pretty little town. The fresh baked cookies they provided during the day were also great.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group there is a separate house that can be booked that has two large be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMacIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place was great! Seriously. Location-Great. Room/bathroom-Great. Breakfast-Great. Hospitality-Great. We were in the Metal Room - the bed is super comfy and the bathroom has a huge soaking tub and slate shower. It's huge. The breakfasts are tasty and keep you full for hours. Coffee and tea, scone or muffin then fresh fruit in some form and if that was not filling enough a hot egg dish for the finale. Mary and Brenda do a great job of being around and available whenever needed but otherwise the place is quiet and you have lots of privacy. Don't know what else to add but if you are going to Ashland - you should stay here.

Room Tip: Metal room and the one next to it are great (Fire?). There is a room on the first floor off the dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annville, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

i recently found myself in ashland and needed a place to stay on the spur of the moment. lucky for me, i called the pelton house and they had just the right accommodation for me. i stayed in the fire room for two nights while i enjoyed the charming town of ashland and it's world-renowned theatre.

brenda and mary made sure i felt at home and recommended great places to eat and walk (they are close to the fun town center and nice shops). the neighborhood is quiet and i slept very well. i loved the relaxed, elegant furnishings in the historic home (comfortable and attractive, but not fussy is more my style). breakfast was hearty and delicious - good veggies and sausage, as well as fruit and scones. there were always yummy cookies waiting for a sweet ending to the day.

i hope to stay with them again some day!

Room Tip: the fire room is just right for one (or two friends needing separate beds). nice, stoned-tiled bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderinglovecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the Earth Room. It has a private entrance, a large newly remodeled bathroom and a private outdoor hot tub . the location of this B& B is perfect for walking to the theatre and restaurants. breakfast was very nice and the cookies in the afternoon were a nice treat. Very friendly and helpful host. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The Earth room is nice , as it has a porch, hot tub and king sized bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toby0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We look forward to our annual trip to Ashland, and staying at the warm, inviting Pelton House Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are comfortable, stylish and spacious. The house and large yard are beautiful, and guests feel welcome to lounge under the arbor or use the front room to read, enjoy coffee or tea in the mornings and yummy fresh baked cookies in the afternoon.
Breakfasts are delicious, and dietary needs are met graciously! The Pelton House is close to the Shakepeare Festival theatres and all the restaurants and shopping in downtown Ashland. We are able to walk to the theatre in under 10 minutes!
Mary and Brenda make sure any of our needs are met, with helpful suggestions on dining, shopping and art galleries.
We consider the Pelton House our "Home Away From Home".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our first time at Pelton House and we already reserved for next year!! The location is prime, walking distance from anywhere in downtown Ashland. We had the entire upstairs of Auberge House which is just across the street from the main house. The Manzanita suite is 2 bedrooms, sitting area, soaking tub and steam shower. What more could best girlfriends want?

The breakfasts were sumptuous, the company and conversation lively and entertaining, just what you'd expect from Ashland! Mary and Brenda were wonderful hosts from the fluffy robes to the home baked cookies each day. The Auberge has a nice kitchen, sunroom, outdoor table and chairs to enjoy a meal or a bottle of wine. Pelton House added so much to our trip, we can't imagine staying anywhere else now!

Room Tip: The Manzanita has 2 rooms upstairs, perfect for friends or 2 couples. You can book each room separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stilren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.1 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelton Guest House

Property: Pelton Guest House
Address: 228 B St, Ashland, OR 97520-1913
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the railroad district, two blocks from Shakespeare, is a historical house you can call home. The lineage of Pelton House dates back to the late 1800's: an Ashland landmark. Pelton Guest House has recently been remodeled and we invite you to come soothe your soul and bask in our luxurious accommodations. As a vacation rental, other than having the best location in Ashland, we offer our guests many in-room complimentary amenities. We are a family owned small business and we are gradually making improvements with our guests in mind to enjoy a comfortably zen like environment. Looking forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pelton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelton House b&b
Pelton House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing