We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Sunday Brunch”

Alchemy Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Alchemy Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $39
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hargadine St
Description: Sept 1st, 2015 - Just named one of the Top 100 Restaurants for Foodies by OpenTable. We are a small fine dining restaurant that strives to use local ingredients to transmute our food, cocktails and dining experience into memorable evenings. We feature an award winning wine list with Certified Sommelier on staff to help, and inventive craft cocktails to wow the palate.
Alturas, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My sister and I visited here one Sunday while in town. We asked to be seated outside and it seemed to irritate the woman doing the seating and I thought oh boy, but that was our last contact with her and our server was prompt and wonderful. We both ordered egg dishes that were fabulous and the scones with nut butter were the best I've ever had! Great food in a lovely setting!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Manager at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you were no completely satisfied with your meal. As always, I hope that you mentioned the lamb to your server at the time, as we are always happy to fix an order that is not to your liking. I do hope that you will return in the future, and give us another chance to impress you. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    53
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Ashland's second best restaurant”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate at this restaurant the first night of our visit, and found the food to be quite creative (think sous vide lamb chops) and the wine list well chosen. The restaurant was a little chilly (both literally and in aspect) but the service was friendly, and I felt that the prices were fair for the quality.

Probably wouldn't be a stand out if located in Berkeley (my home town) but stands high on my list for Ashland!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nevertooold53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This restaurant has really improved over time. We dine here when we come to Ashland each summer. I am sure there have been various chefs during our visits. Last summer we had a particularly good meal. This year was even better. I had pork belly rillettes and a pillowy corn pasta. These are dishes that could easily have failed, but did not. They were perfectly balanced in portion and complexity, savory and rich but not fussy. They have a very good wine list and knowledgable staff. Hope this quality continues. There are many Ashland restaurants that seem to hit a peak and then slide. I love finding restaurants where the chef seems to enjoy and understand the art of food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Manager at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Our chef certainly enjoys creating the dishes, so he's always happy to hear when people enjoy them! We will strive to continue the level of quality you enjoy! Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
759 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Alchemy is located about 150 feet off of Main Street in Richmond at the victorian Winchester Inn. It's on a shady well-landscaped street and you know you are in a trip even as you walk up the front steps.

Inside, the restaurant is decorated in neutral grays and whites, with various items of architectural interest that are both appealing and divide the dining room into several intimate areas including, if you want, the attractive garden-side porch. The overall setting is cool and sophisticated without seeming stuffy or overbearing.

We were warmly greeted as we entered. All of the wait staff were genuinely friendly, knowledgeable, and accessible.

Alchemy has recently changed its menu, and the new menu is terrific. We had trouble choosing because of the number of tempting selections. Everything proved well prepared, savory, and flavorful.

Alchemy prides itself on its wine selection and has a wine list the size of a small phone book. We decided to go with wine by the glass, and their offerings in that regard were very good and appropriately priced, and we received helpful recommendations from our waiter. If you want that special bottle, however, I have no doubt you would find it here.

We went prior to a show at the Oregon Shakespeare and had no trouble meeting our current time. Many of the guests, however, were obviously simply out for a nice evening.

Alchemy is an upscale treat for fine dining in Ashland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Manager at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hey there! So glad to hear that you enjoyed the new look and new menu. We appreciate your feedback on your experience. We pass the information in these reviews along to our staff as well, and our front of house staff was thrilled that you found them so helpful and friendly. Thank you very much, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
179 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Innovative Cusine Personified”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Alchemy Restaurant and Bar is located in the Winchester , A Boutique Inn. The hote reminded me of some of the hotels I have visited in Ocean Grove, NJ. The Building is Quaint and Lovely, with a beautiful garden and a porch that welcomes you to take a seat and be comfortable. Since we booked our reservation with Open Table we received a special appetizer treat from the Chef, it was the start of a truly gustatorial meal. Everythig including the piping hot bread, to the truly caring waiters was exceptional. I had the pork chops and they were fantastic. When in Ashland visit Alchemy, and enjoy truly unique meals with true creativity by master chefs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Manager at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
The kitchen staff and the wait staff thank you profusely for your kind remarks! We love this business and it is amazing to hear when people enjoy every aspect of what we have worked hard to create. Thank you so much for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alchemy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing