We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Meal - Great Wine List”

Alchemy Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Alchemy Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $39
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hargadine St
Description: Sept 1st, 2015 - Just named one of the Top 100 Restaurants for Foodies by OpenTable. We are a small fine dining restaurant that strives to use local ingredients to transmute our food, cocktails and dining experience into memorable evenings. We feature an award winning wine list with Certified Sommelier on staff to help, and inventive craft cocktails to wow the palate.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Top Notch Meal - Great Wine List”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of enjoying a fabulous meal while staying at the Winchester Inn earlier this month. My tenderloin was perfectly cooked and the smoked lobster bisque was sensational.

The wine list has a great selection at all price points and sommelier Drew really knew his stuff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Manager at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Glad you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed your meals! We work hard on the wine list to make sure that there is great wine at any price. Thank you for coming to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    56
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, OR
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Grand re-opening made a good impression”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were in Ashland for our anniversary and wanted to go somewhere 'special' for dinner. Our anniversary, however, was on Feb 14th and just about everyplace in town was booked. The concierge at our hotel told us this restaurant, in the Winchester Inn, was having their grand re-opening that night (after being closed for a while and changing out their menu), so she didn't know how good it would be, but they did have an reservation spot open at 9PM, so we took it. Normally, this would be quite late for us to be eating; we almost cancelled, but I'm so glad we didn't. Everything we ordered was superb! They were out of the filet mignon by the time we ate, but I was delighted with the Stuffed Quail and my spouse was not disappointed in the Lamb Loin, either. And the Three Crostini appetizer was really delicious! They have a fairly decent wine selection and the fully stocked bar specializes in some unique 'craft cocktails'. We were impressed and we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinchesterInn, Manager at Alchemy Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We're glad you didn't cancel that night as well! Glad that everything was good for you and that you enjoyed your meal. We'll look for you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Getting better”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a very good dining experience at the Winchester Inn's newly renamed Alchemy Restaurant last night before heading to OSF for a delightful opening of "My Fair Lady". We shared a perfectly prepared Scallop first course and our friends shared a dinner salad. All was paired with a fine half bottle of Sancerre. My Filet Mignon and her Lobster were both very well prepared and the bottle of 2008 Bethel Heights Pinot Noir lived up to its reputation. Service was excellent and the Wine List extensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Special Night”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is a great place for a special night out.

I did not expect to find such a nice restaurant located on a side street one block up from Main Street in downtown Ashland. We were just looking for a place to eat but saw the good reviews in Trip Advisor and since it was in walking distance thought we would give it a try.

The building is an old farm house and is charming. The service was attentive and very good. We started with a gnocchi appetizer and the butternut sqash soup- both were fantastic. My companion always orders a filet, and said it was one of the best they ever had. I had the lamb chop and it was very good too. The wine list is extensive and they have received awards from the Wine Spectator magazine.

All in all, a great, but unexpected meal and a nice way to end the day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fluctuates”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This used to be our favorite place to go with our friends. We went often to their wine bar and often to eat in their dining room, front porch, and garden. However, things have changed. Now we go only very rarely and only if someone else suggests it. The manager has just not very nice to us, and the food fluctuates. It is a wonderful setting, though, especially the front porch and the garden in summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alchemy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing