We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fluctuates”

Alchemy Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Alchemy Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $39
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hargadine St
Description: Sept 1st, 2015 - Just named one of the Top 100 Restaurants for Foodies by OpenTable. We are a small fine dining restaurant that strives to use local ingredients to transmute our food, cocktails and dining experience into memorable evenings. We feature an award winning wine list with Certified Sommelier on staff to help, and inventive craft cocktails to wow the palate.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fluctuates”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This used to be our favorite place to go with our friends. We went often to their wine bar and often to eat in their dining room, front porch, and garden. However, things have changed. Now we go only very rarely and only if someone else suggests it. The manager has just not very nice to us, and the food fluctuates. It is a wonderful setting, though, especially the front porch and the garden in summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    56
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Foodies will love the Winchester Inn”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The "Lambburger" was awesome, my wife's "Little Wellingtons" were perfect, the ambience "Edwardian Chique", the service attentive, knowlegeable and fast. A wedding photo session was underway in the garden, providing great entertainment from our window table in the bistro. Found a delightful Sancerre at a great price. Happiness rules! A great dinner in Ashland.

Helpful?
Thank 8Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Charming location near OSF”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had an excellent meal here before the theater. It's an Inn as well, so it's in a charming building.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Promises More Than It Delivers”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose this restaurant because of the awards it had gotten from Wine Spectator, and we believed we would be getting a spectacular dinner with incredible wine, a highlight of our trip. Unfortunately, the restaurant underperforms. The positive aspect of it was that we had a very tasty scallop entree that was very enjoyable -- beautifully prepared and presented. However, the appetizers -- one a grilled artichoke with dungeness crab -- were lackluster. Wine is always an individual preference, but between my husband and I, we did tasting flights of all of most of the white and all of the red wines presented by the glass, and found none of them very good. The service was not that great -- it was peremptory (we were in and out in about 1 hour 15 when we had hoped for a dinner to linger over), and the waiter did not seemed very interested in us or our experience. It may be that our disappointment was due to the size of our expectation, but in general, I would not got out of my way to find this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I had the beef Wellington appetizer as an entree and my husband had the sweetbreads, both were excellent. The Oregon "Bone Dry" Reisling was the best Reisling we have had outside Germany. The Creme Brulee was very good too. Definitley recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alchemy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing