We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a Reservation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amuse Restaurant

Amuse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Amuse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 153 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Main
Description: We seek the finest ingredients, utilizing organic, small-producer items. Shaded outdoor dining in summer months. Voted Best New, Oregon 2002 by Northwest Palate.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
228 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Get a Reservation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had we known what time we'd be in town and in between shows, we would have made a dinner reservation. Without one, we were seated outdoors. It was cold and one of the standing heaters was not working, so it stayed cold throughout our dinner. My sweetie had a small plate for dinner of grilled white prawns, roasted fingerings and romesco. I had the truffle roasted game hen. Both we filling and delicious. We splurged on the caramelized banana crepes for dessert. It was a perfect way to end the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sactokaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    65
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
elgabber
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“really disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Have been to this restaurant many times in the past.The quality has really dropped.Food was poorly prepared and prices way too high.I had duck confit which was so fatty I could not eat.I also had scallops which were way undercooked and my wife had the Halibut which was in a very bland sauce.
The desserts are fine .The service--although somewhat rushed is adequate.
For these prices--among highest in Ashland,should be much better.
Restaurant was half empty indicating the word is spreading.

Too bad--this used to be one of the best in Ashland!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elgabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinsmore, Ca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top of the line...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Off on a very quick get away with a friend to see a play and, on another friend's suggestion, we made a reservation at Amuse. We glad we did. Not inexpensive, but worth every penny.
From the pork belly appetizer to the Chocolate Truffle Cake with coffee ( more like espresso) ice cream dessert (both shared), every mouthful was divine.
We had the Halibut and the Scallop entree's and both were perfect. service was good and the lovely Prosecco with which we toasted it all only highlighted what a delectable time we had. The waiter was wonderful and service was timely and conscientious.
YUM!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
403 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Solid cooking, great location before a play”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We found Amuse restaurant is a solid choice for fine dining within walking distance of the Shakespeare Festival. Amuse is a cozy restaurant with a minimum of decoration. The first thing we noticed was the wonderful smell of truffles as we walked in the door. Another good sign was the high quality of the bread and the complementary individual little starters that that our server brought to the table. We ordered a unusual salad of radicchio, apple, and parmesan which was delicious. The truffled game hen was delightful but we thought that the hanger steak with chanterelles was the highlight of the meal. Our server was quite formal in his language, and knew the appropriate times to ask us questions and when to leave us alone.

Every year thousands of visitors to the Ashland Shakespeare Festival look for a nice meal before attending an evening play at 8pm. This means you really do need to make a reservation because the peak dinning time within walking distance of the festival is between 6pm and 7:30pm..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
333 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Sophisticated dining a short walk away from OSF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We had heard that Amuse had begun offering a lunch menu on a trial basis, so decided to check it out. The eggplant sandwich was delicious, though the bread was much too crisp - the texture of croutons (how do you eat a sandwich like that? Quite messily, unsatisfyingly so). The celery soup was bland. The pear salad was surprisingly, refreshingly appealing, visually and edibly. All good value.

Tasteful decor, elegant service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diploconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amuse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing