We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You won't be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amuse Restaurant

Amuse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Amuse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 148 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Main
Description: We seek the finest ingredients, utilizing organic, small-producer items. Shaded outdoor dining in summer months. Voted Best New, Oregon 2002 by Northwest Palate.
North East, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We returned to this restaurant for the second time in a year (visiting from the east coast, otherwise we'd have a standing reservation!). After a year of fond recollections and numerous conversations about the quality of food, atmosphere, and service, we were anxious to return. While walking back, we asked each other, "Do you think it was as great as we remember, or have we inflated the memories in our minds?"

We were greeted with a sincere smile and an invitation to choose between several open tables. We picked what we thought was a prime table. Unfortunately, the crowd at the next table was on it's umteenth bottle of wine and were having an uproariously good time. The hostess moved us without complaint: 10 bonus points!

The meal was everything we hoped for: fresh, interesting flavors. Realistic sized portions where quality trumps quantity. The wine list included local wines (one of Oregon's treasures are the wines--wine snobs please sit up and take notice: Oregon's weather and climate are great for grape production). The scallops we had last year were so delicous I opted for the same again; reality was even better than memory, they were tender, flavorful, and the sauce was light and added to the dish rather than overwhelm it. Dessert was a delightful, a mix of sherbet and ice cream that was the finale of the meal.

We'll return. The second visit exceeded our high expectations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAHRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    63
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Food prepared beautifully”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Their entire menu is delicious and served by great people who have been serving their customers for years. The wine list has some great Oregon wines and their desserts are extraordinary.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Nicest Restaurant in Ashland, Serves Local & Organic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We ate here the one night we stayed in Ashland, OR. The restaurant is quaint, and serves mostly local and organic ingredients, with a valid attempt at high end cuisine. The food overall was good, and most was made with familiar pairing of food combinations and preparations, so don't expect innovation, and there were some hits and misses. Overall it was a pleasant experience for being in Ashland, OR, and far away from a major city.

The biggest hit were the desserts, and we were told by the waiter that their pastry chef did a run at the French Laundry (a 3 Michelin starred restaurant in Yountville, CA). We ordered the beignets, which were light, fluffy, and served with a homemade raspberry jam that was the recipe of the pastry chef's grandmother, with a comforting taste I still remember, and the meringue tart which was a bit on the sweet side for my tastes, but I adored the unusual combination of flavors.

For dinner we ordered both of the salads, the Watercress and the Arugula, which were very well balanced, and the dressings not overpowering. Then we had the The beef tenderloin, which was the best entree we ordered, and was cooked perfectly tender, and full of flavor. We also had the truffle roasted game hen, which had too much truffle oil for my liking, giving it a cloyingly rich taste, and some of the meat was still running with red juices next to the leg bones (we were told this is how game hen is normally, and I'm not very familiar with it, so I chose not to eat those parts). We also had the scallops, which were very fresh with tremendous flavor and not overcooked. Unfortunately the scallops had grit and the little muscles still attached, (grit in scallops is something I've experienced even at high end restaurants in San Francisco, and this always irritates me!)

The biggest misses are the uncomfortable, molded plastic chairs, and the cramped dining room, which can get warm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanceFaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Crowded, hot, over-rated food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our expectations must have been too high. Drinks were so so, table was uncomfortable, fish preparation was mediocre.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Ashland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to Amuse for the first time. Thought the service and food were outstanding. I would highly recommend it if you are visiting Ashland.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PNWtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amuse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing