We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very good; mandated tip not so”

Peerless Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Peerless Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between "A" & "B" Street
Description: Located in the heart of Ashland's Historic Railroad & Gallery District, The Peerless is a lively sophisticated neighborhood restaurant & bar (located next to our historic six-room luxury inn "The Peerless Hotel") . The Peerless can be experienced in our relaxing dining room, friendly & intimate bar (Happy Hour from 5-6:00 Tues-Sat)or alfresco in our enchanting gardens. Our dinner menu features an array of small plates, as well as steaks, seafood and vegetarian entrees that capture the favors of the seasons and essence of the Pacific Northwest. Our extensive wine list showcases the best of Southern Oregon, the Willamette Valley, Washington and California as well as selections from classic old world wine regions. The Peerless approach to dining offers you a wonderful opportunity to celebrate fine wines, delectable food and good conversation in a warm and relaxing atmosphere.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Food very good; mandated tip not so”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our group of eight made plans to dine together at the Peerless. Given our size, it was not essential that we sit at a single table; but did so to be 'congenial'. Mistake. The food was very tasty; the service standard but not superlative. Result was a mandated 20% tip -- an $8 glass of wine cost $1.60 to carry it from the bar to the table. If I were to go again, I'd ask for two separate tables, and tip for the food at the standard rate; and a bit less for any beverage consumed. Best to ask when reserving a table. For a couple dining out, not a problem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    51
    29
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We discovered the Peerless Hotel three years ago and return to its restaurant every year when we visit Ashland. One can enjoy several small plates or a full-sized meal. The food is unusual and very good ... good value for the price. They are very sensitive to your time if you are going to the theater. We love the food and the ambience and hope to try the hotel next time we visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnstacy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The service and food are unbeatable! Our family used this location for our "after memorial service" dinner, my 65th birthday, and my husband's 69th birthday. All selections were wonderful. Often we get small plates and share a bunch for variety. This place is a must for visitors and locals alike.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and Elegant Dining”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Peerless Restaurant excels in friendly service, quality, and atmosphere. The varied menu ranging in price from $8 small dishes, salads and gourmet soups to $38 fresh, wild halibut is distinctly tasty and memorable. Peerless is my first choice for a special night out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bbishop140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerlesson4th, Owner at Peerless Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments. We hope to see you again very soon!!!

Crissy Barnett
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In Ashland? Don't miss Peerless”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I come to this restaurant, oh, about 2 to3 times a week. Why? Because I can get a great burger for about $11 or a great natural seafood dish for about $38. In between there are many prices and many entrees to choose from. The staff is great, the ambiance---wonderful. The staff is great. As a local, this is my "go to" place. I will we back again before the end of the week. Ashland is a great town and this is a great restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbishop140Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB1967, Owner at Peerless Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear "bbishop140Oregon",

Thank you for the lovely comments and I look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Crissy Barnett
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peerless Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing