We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little more of a restaurant than a pub.”

Caldera Brewery & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 157 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Full bar. Family friendly. Fireplace. Outdoor heaters. Amazing views.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A little more of a restaurant than a pub.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited the new brewery location with the whole family. The menu is varied and provides several vegetarian dishes. I believe a couple of which are vegan (I am not 100% sure of this). I had the grilled vegetable panini which was excellent and very reasonably priced. My children all had a cheeseburger of some sort. They appeared to be excellent. The meals came with a choice of soup, salad or a macaroni and potato salad. The burgers were $10.00 and the panini was $12 which seamed very reasonable. There are a number of higher end selections that round out the menu. They also have a number of appetizers. Caldera is one of my favorite beer choices. They have a number of beer selections that should satisfy any palate.

The atmosphere was very nice, open, modern and upscale. The restaurant has beautiful view to the East of the mountains. Service was excellent.

The only drawback is they do not have a children's menu. They do have burgers (which are a little large for a child) and a Mac and Cheese entree.

I look forward to visiting this winter after a day skiing at Mt. Ashland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    108
    28
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A good pub with limited food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I am pretty sure that at least one of the reviews posted here about the Caldera Brewery is actually about the Caldera tap House in downtown Ashland. The Brewery is just off the freeway , east of the town, and certainly not within walking distance of the Park or OSF. However, it has great views of the mountains on one side, and the interior is spacious, not to say echoey. The range of beers is terrific, the range of food very limited. I might go there again for lunch with a colleague, but this is not somewhere for a dinner date.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Best Western recommended this place for dinner. It was a very pleasant surprise and just down the road from the motel. The salmon ravioli was intriguing, but tasty. Price wasn't bad. Atmosphere was pleasantly peaceful since I arrived early for dinner. Didn't study the menu closely since the waitress was very helpful. Seemed like there were a lot of curry dishes (not my favorite, but there were other choices). I'd probably go again if returning to the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh brew selections beyond the bar list”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a sunny Saturday afternoon - seeking a new beer experience I'm Ashland. We were delighted with this new tasting room and restaurant attached to the new brew house. Caldera brew house is at the end of Clover Lane off exit 14 (I-5). There is outside open to blue skies and undercover seating. Inside is a remarkable bar, tap wall and active kitchen. Light music, attentive and welcoming wait staff and reasonable prices. We are looking forward to a dining experience after our beer stop. A hidden gem outside of busy downtown Ashland.

Helpful?
Thank Erickroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good beer, descent food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

7% double hop beer was tasty and the entrees were savory and priced commensurate with location. Easy walking distance to the Festival, downtown, and Lithia Park. Noisy when full.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurtmugin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caldera Brewery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing