We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wine and very nice staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dana Campbell Vineyards

Dana Campbell Vineyards
Ranked #10 of 41 things to do in Ashland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a small estate grown winery offering a relaxed and comfortable wine tasting experience on the "other" side of Ashland. Come join your friends for award winning wines and remarkable views, play a little bocce ball or enjoy the sunsets. Inside or outside, red wines or whites, we have just the right spot for you to enjoy a tasting or a glass. We will package wine to go for you too.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great wine and very nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I and 4 of our friends visited Dana Campbell vineyards and had a wonderful time. There is delicious wine and their staff was very nice, prompt and friendly, even on a very busy afternoon. We enjoyed the beautiful panoramic views of Ashland from the tasting room windows. Very nice time, will definitely be back and it's a short drive from downtown Ashland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delicious Wine & Cordial Staff, Complete with a Phenomenal View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this winery. Let me preface with this: my family is born and raised in Sonoma, Ca and I have been to multiple wineries in the Sonoma Valley and Napa. I prefer the pace and atmosphere of Dana Campbell.

Southern Oregon and the Ashland area have several wineries, although the area is not exactly famous for vineyards. Therefore none of the wineries are crowded and much more leisurely than Napa and other Californian wine tasting experiences.

We came on a Sunday around noon, and when we walked in there was only one other couple in the tasting room. This made it a very calm experience. They offered several tables to sit at and slowly sip each sample of wine. There is also a small menu of Lite Bites offered, as well as a few beer selections. We did not try either, but the couple next to us ordered a cheese and cracker plate that looked quite tasty. The Lite Bites range from $8-10. The tasting is $5 for 5 wines, two whites, one blend and two reds. My favourite was the 2011 Viognier, which was a dry white that was reminiscent of a French imported wine.

Their grounds are absolutely beautiful. They sit rather high up on one of the many hills in the area and thus have a fantastic panoramic view of all of Ashland. They have chairs and benches outside to sit and enjoy the view. In addition, the entire tasting room has multiple giant bay windows so as to enjoy the gorgeous view whilst enjoying the wine.

The two women working were extremely friendly and knowledgeable, it was obvious wine was their passion. They completed the perfection that was the rest of the experience. I do wish there had been more wine to sample, but at a small winery it is no surprise five was their chosen number. I'd much rather have the enjoyable and relaxing afternoon wine tasting we had with less of a selection than to have 20 wines to choose from but be crowded amoungst many other patrons and have to wait several minutes to be served.

Definitely take the time to make a trip to a Southern Oregon winery and support local businesses, and I would recommend Dana Campbell for its wonderful service, good wines, and great atmosphere complete with the splendor of the view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely wines, spectacular view and now music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The owners are longtime Ashland residents who followed their dream and started a vineyard and now a winery. Located across the valley from downtown Ashland, their charming tasting room and terrace looks over the entire valley and the view is breathtaking. Their grapes have long been used by other local wineries and now they have produced their own label, with wines made by award-winning local winemakers. They also have "lite bites" to go with a glass of wine or the tasting flight. Over Memorial Day, they booked the excellent local band, LEFT and the place was jumping. Lovely way to spend an afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rbkenter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine Tasting Right In Ashland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

In addition to wonderful theater when we come to Ashland for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, we always spend some time in the Applegate Valley doing some wine tasting. On our most recent trip (April, 2013) we tried the reasonably new-opened Dana Campbell Vineyards, less than 5 minutes from downtown Ashland. Their wines are very, very good. As a red wine fan, I enjoyed the Malbec and the Vionillo (a blend of Viognier and Tempranillo). My wife, the white wine drinker in the family thoroughly enjoyed the Viognier. And we both enjoyed the scrumptious meatball snack we had along with the tasting. And, if you want views with your wine and snacks, you will definitely not be disappointed. The huge windows allow an unobstructed view of downtown Ashland. It's a wonderful setting, and it appears the owners, Patrick and Paula, have themselves a winner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dana Campbell and OSF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The combination of Dana Campbell Vineyards and OSF makes an excellent combo for a stopover. in Ashland.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ChuckB873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dana Campbell Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Dana Campbell Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing