We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Memorable Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“A Memorable Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in Double Classic room on Main Street. Loved the view of the hills, walking everywhere in Ashland, friendly staff. Shared bath not a problem for us - sink in the room was nice. I brought earplugs - noise not a problem! Enjoyed seeing all the activity outside the window. We really enjoyed staying at the Columbia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    81
    15
    16
    8
See reviews for
64
99
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I tried to book at the Columbia for two nights. Because they were sold out one night they booked me in the Columbia one night and their sister hotel, The Palms, the next. As many of you know, there were wildfires in Southern Oregon this year that caused air quality conditions that were so bad that some of the outdoor plays were cancelled.

After looking at the weather reports for 7-10 days out, I realized I should change my dates for two days later (after rainfall expected). When I called to change the dates, they were unable to change the dates because the hotel was fully booked. I cancelled my reservations and booked elsewhere. When I received the cancellation notice, it showed there was a $25 processing charge to cancel the reservations- see the policy below. Imagine my surprise when I was docked $25 for each hotel ($50 cancellation fee for one visit) although it was consecutive days and only booked in their sister hotel to accommodate their schedule. I won't be rebooking with them again.

Cancellation Policy: Your deposit confirms your reservation. Should your plans change and you need to cancel or shorten your stay, you will want to let us know at least 2 weeks in advance. With sufficient notice, we can refund your deposit, or change your reservation, for a $25.00 processing fee per room. In the unlikely event that a reservation is cancelled giving us less than 2 weeks notice, the hotel retains the deposit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at Columbia Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Caryl, thanks for writing to us again. Due to the smokey skies, we waived all cancellation fees for cancellations that were due to air quality that week, even if guests were canceling without sufficient notice. As you can imagine, a big loss to the hotel and to guests looking forward to their vacations in beautiful Ashland, Oregon. The nominal processing fee that you express concern over was clearly communicated to you verbally at the time of booking, so our hope was that you would appreciate that we refunded your deposits, even though we were within our right to retain those funds due to the last-minute nature of your cancellation. We did subtract a small processing fee from your deposit to cover our credit card and banking fees, so the real winners here were Visa and Mastercard. Those guys win everytime. Hopefully, we'll see you next year, but if not we wish you all the best. Again, thank you for your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I always stay the the Columbia when I'm in Ashland. The location and price just can't be beat -- right downtown, 2 blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival campus. This is not a luxury property, but it is clean and comfortable. Don't be afraid of the rooms with shared bath, only rarely have I had to wait more than 15 minutes for a shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley_Lincicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great, spacious rooms, warm staff. I love the feel if this place and how close it is to everything; especially the open living room feel of the common area where we hang out and read the paper with the other guests, the European style. I stay in the Columbia every year now. Definitely hs won me over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We happened upon the Columbia by accident when their sister hotel (Palm Cottages) directed us there to book our second night in Ashland (because Palm Cottages was completely booked). The Columbia is extremely well maintained and its historic feel is apparent throughout. Our room was large and comfortable. The common area looked appealing but since we had a very short stay, we really didn't take advantage of it. As mentioned in a number of other reviews, the staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. The only drawback was the lack of a private bathroom. Our room was one of the farthest from the bathrooms, which made our middle of the night excursion(s) a bit more challenging. And one of the best things about this hotel...location, location, location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I loved staying at the Columbia. The best thing about this hotel is the staff, and that it's a historical landmark in Oregon history. I got to know all the staff during my week stay, and I enjoyed talking with all of them. The staff goes far beyond the usual in trying to help patrons. Every time I passed the front desk there was a customer asking for something unusual, and they always did their best to help. Leisl, Westin, Daniel, Jonathan, Kelly, Owen-- they are all polite and gracious no matter what, and fun to talk to also. I suddenly got an infected fingernail and kept bugging them for help, but they were always gracious. They even found me a clinic I could go to in town. I didn't know when I booked that it's the oldest continually-in-service hotel. It's beautifully preserved, and I'm glad they are taking good care of it. There are lovely old photos on the wall where you can see Ashland's history and people from the past. I didn't mind sharing a bathroom because the price was great, and it's such a central location. I was there for July 4th and I only had to step outside the front door to watch the parade. My room didn't have AC, but the fan worked fine. Love the place, love the people, and will return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Rebecca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Columbia Hotel is perfect for travelers who don't mind sharing a bathroom. I stayed in a classic queen with shared bath and it was perfect! I came in very late at night and they made sure the front desk was staffed for my late arrival. Hotel staff were incredibly friendly and made sure my stay was the best! I loved the antique decor in my room and the fresh flowers made me feel right at home. This is one place I will come back to for sure!

Room Tip: Some rooms do have private baths so rest assured that if the shared bathroom is your only hang-up, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Property: Columbia Hotel
Address: 262 1/2 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1894
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ashland
#7 Family Hotel in Ashland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#8 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing