We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, reasonable, and right downtown”
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have stayed twice here, both during Thanksgiving. It's a great value, I have had very good service, and the location can't be beaten. Most rooms have a sink but require shared toilet/shower. If that isn't your cup of tea, look elsewhere. If you like the European style having a lobby with overstuffed chairs, fresh coffee in the morning, and a great place to read the newspaper, check this place out. Be aware of high season cancellation policies before you book.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theonlyjonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Columbia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 283 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked a night at the Columbia for a stopover en route to Lake Tahoe, CA from Portland, OR. A very restful night in this classic Hotel. We splurged for the queen + twin which has it's own bathroom. The hotel has been gracefully renovated, comfortable old-fashioned ambiance. My daughter appreciated the antique phone booth. The staff were very welcoming and informative.

Room Tip: Front large room overlooks the Main St. and has a bit of street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We love staying at The Columbia. We park the car out back and never get in it again until it's time to go home. A sweet place, complete with cozy living room ambiance, so conveniently located in the heart of everything. Walk to Lithia Park, the theater, great restaurants and shops. Very much recommended only not on the weekend we're hoping to book a room. :)

Room Tip: Not handicapped accessible as far as we could tell. Are we wrong about this? Check before going.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Columbia is in an historic building in the center of Ashland's delightful shopping district, full of unique retailers. The hotel has been gracefully renovated, providing a comfortable old-fashioned ambience with wi-fi and great coffee. If you don't need a pool and can handle stairs, this is a great place for people of all ages. And, you don't need a fitness center because there are excellent street walks and trails up the hill into Lithia Park just a minute away.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, some with private baths and others with shared bathroom facilities that in my e...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HildulaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Columbia has one of the most enviable locations for those attending the Shakespeare festival. The rooms are very comfortable and we found both the patrons and staff to be very warm and convivial. Cell phones and wifi work fine but there are NO BLARING TVs! The shared baths might make some uncomfortable (so get one of the rooms with a full bath of its own) but we found that it was perfectly reasonable - we never had to wait or anything like that. The only thing that keeps me from giving them a perfect score is just going to be unchangeable - the stairs. As we age, we have gone from using the front stairs - there are 36 to get to the front desk - to the back entrance (about ten stairs there). Eventually we will need to find a place that is more accessible for aging knees.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueCatGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been coming to Ashland for more than two decades and the Columbia Hotel has been our home base since our first trip. The rooms are great (some with a bathroom down the hall, others with bathrooms included), a great lobby for gathering with friends and morning coffee waiting bright and early, WiFi, and a fabulous central location - who could ask for more? We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDT206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel has been in Ashland a long time and was known as the best place to stay cheap for many years. It has changed for the better and still is a most reasonable price. The location makes it perfect for play going, shopping, and eating at my favorite restaurants. Staff are friendly and helpful. It's quiet. Lots of hot water for showers and all bathrooms are clean. It was a little too warm in one of the rooms at night; the other had a good temperature. We will book there again for spring and fall plays next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
827 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Address: 262 East Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1894
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ashland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#7 Family Hotel in Ashland
#8 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: $110 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing