We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is the BEST!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location is the BEST!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Columbia has one of the most enviable locations for those attending the Shakespeare festival. The rooms are very comfortable and we found both the patrons and staff to be very warm and convivial. Cell phones and wifi work fine but there are NO BLARING TVs! The shared baths might make some uncomfortable (so get one of the rooms with a full bath of its own) but we found that it was perfectly reasonable - we never had to wait or anything like that. The only thing that keeps me from giving them a perfect score is just going to be unchangeable - the stairs. As we age, we have gone from using the front stairs - there are 36 to get to the front desk - to the back entrance (about ten stairs there). Eventually we will need to find a place that is more accessible for aging knees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueCatGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    82
    15
    16
    8
See reviews for
65
99
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been coming to Ashland for more than two decades and the Columbia Hotel has been our home base since our first trip. The rooms are great (some with a bathroom down the hall, others with bathrooms included), a great lobby for gathering with friends and morning coffee waiting bright and early, WiFi, and a fabulous central location - who could ask for more? We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDT206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, OR
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel has been in Ashland a long time and was known as the best place to stay cheap for many years. It has changed for the better and still is a most reasonable price. The location makes it perfect for play going, shopping, and eating at my favorite restaurants. Staff are friendly and helpful. It's quiet. Lots of hot water for showers and all bathrooms are clean. It was a little too warm in one of the rooms at night; the other had a good temperature. We will book there again for spring and fall plays next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Knowing that I'll be "home" again at the Columbia Hotel greatly enhances my semi-annual trips to Ashland for the festival. The hotel is very comfortable, couldn't be better positioned, offers a quiet respite -- no TVs or phones, and is staffed by friendly and helpful people. I've stayed there with my daughter and two different friends on separate trips; everyone has enjoyed the stay at this charming hotel as much as I.

Room Tip: The large double rooms face the street and there may be some noise from late night strollers. I kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

In the heart of downtown, the Columbia Hotel is a remarkable place to stay. No TV, no phone (though cell phones make most hotel phones obsolete these days), and, for the most part, the toilet and shower are across the hall. The rooms are comfortable, and the rates are some of the lowest in town -- and you're in the heart of all the action. You literally leave the car parked the entire visit! My favorite place to stay in Ashland.

Room Tip: 6,7,8,9,10 are the best "cheaper" rooms. Rooms across the hall, some of which have private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRINGFIELD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

First off, you should understand a bit about me so you'll know where I'm coming from with this review. I'm someone who researches travel accommodations extensively, and delights in anticipating each trip. I travel extensively and most enjoy historic properties (Sir Francis Drake in SF, The Talbot in Chicago, the McMenamins properties in the NW) and boutique hotels (Hotel Deluxe Portland, El Gaucho Seattle). I've happily stayed in properties ranging from five-star hotels in east Asia, to cockroach-infested beachside dives in Mexico, depending on my budget and travel expectations. Our trip to Ashland this weekend was no different: it was planned months in advance, and our hotel was chosen with expectations of a mid-priced, well located property with historic charm based on input from other Tripadvisor reviewers.

I was bitterly disappointed from beginning to end, and here's why.

1) Our "standard queen" room (#22), at $130 per night, was highway robbery. The mattress was old and worn, the bed low to the ground and uncomfortable, and lacked even a headboard. (In response to another negative review, the hotel management claims all the hotel's beds have pillowtops, but ours most assuredly didn't - I pulled up the linens to look for myself.) The room was T I N Y and cramped with only the aforementioned bed, a straight-backed wooden chair, one small nightstand with lamp, and a very small vanity/dresser as furnishings. The window overlooked the parking lot, which was full the entire weekend and not available to us (though as others mention, there is ample street parking on the next block).
2) More troubling to me than our accommodations was the lack of effort by the staff to make us feel welcome or valued during our stay. All it would take is a "How's everything? Settling in alright?" as we came and went, or an offer to make a pot of coffee when we inquired about a cup before heading to the theater (and were instead informed that they don't make coffee after the morning but there were coffee shops nearby). But the worst was when, upon checking out, I was informed of a $75 reservation change fee that was erroneously charged to our account, and that took an act of God to get reversed off our bill. After 20 minutes (seriously!) of trying to contact a manager, searching policies and procedures, and querying me on every detail of how we'd made, and at one point, changed, our reservation, the clerk finally agreed to believe me and cancel the extra $50 that didn't belong. It was so clear that the management doesn't understand the first thing about how to promote a positive experience or foster loyalty in customers. This poor desk clerk wouldn't dare to take me at my word that no, we hadn't originally booked THREE rooms and canceled two of them; she was desperate to get the OK from someone else before making things right. And wouldn't it have been nice if, after taking up 20 minutes of my morning with that task, she'd offered to waive the original $25 reservation change fee for all the trouble? But, no. Another missed opportunity to demonstrate an ounce of care about their customers' experience.

Perhaps you'll stay at the Columbia and enjoy the spartan accommodations of room 22, or have the fortune to be assigned a better room. Or maybe the furnishings in 22 will be upgraded to better meet the property's claim of historical charm. But unless the management has an epiphany about the importance of customer experience, those of us who value that aspect of our travel experience will do best to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriteToColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inventure, General Manager at Columbia Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate it. Your Classic Queen room, our entry-level guest room, was competitively priced for downtown Ashland at $119. The rate you mentioned must have included city and state lodging tax. When making your web reservation, there was a three-night minimum stay stated at the time of booking, so when you cancelled your third night the computer added a fee for breaking the reservation agreement. The desk person, eager to appease you and understanding that you did not find the hotel a good match to your needs, waived that fee. Again, we apologize that your experience was negative and we hope to see you in one of our higher-level guest rooms such as a Spacious Queen, Courtyard Double, Columbia Queen, or Courtyard Suite in the future as the simplicity of the Classic Queen clearly did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We wanted to be within short walking distance to the theaters at Oregon Shakespeare Festival and yet needed to conserve the dollars. This was excellent choice. Charm (built 1910), 2 blocks to stages. We had a room with showers and bathroom down hall but wasn't a problem for two nights. Rooms are smallish and ours lacked a desk but I worked in the lobby. Great coffee served at 6 a.m. Free parking and WIFI.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuaneKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
0.3 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#5 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Property: Columbia Hotel
Address: 262 1/2 E Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1894
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ashland
#7 Family Hotel in Ashland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#8 Business Hotel in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just one block to Shakespeare theatres. An historic European-style hotel full of warmth and charm. Relax and enjoy our skylit lobby and friendly service. Free wireless internet. Listed on the national register of historic places, The Columbia is Ashland's oldest and longest operating hotel. Guests enjoy the hotel's central location in downtown Ashland. Travelers stepping inside the hotel for the first time are greeted with our warm ambiance, personable hotel staff, plush reading areas, clawfoot tubs, period furnishings and original touches. The hotel is less than two blocks away from Lithia Park, The Plaza, the Oregon Cabaret Theater, unique shops, relaxing spas and over 40 independent restaurants for which Ashland is known. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing