We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Decided to add an overnight in Ashland as part of a longer trip to Washington. Picked the Econo Lodge for price and figured I could deal with a less than perfect room for a night. I got a lot more than I expected. The place was clean, comfortable and very convenient to downtown. Yes the property was a little worn and the mattress was not a high end pillow top, but it served me perfectly well and I considered it a great value. Perhaps if Ashland were a destination, and I was going to spend several days, I might consider some of the higher priced properties, but then maybe not. There really wasn't anything wrong with this other than maybe "not fancy", oh and no coffe in the room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
41
44
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The manager (owner?) Mo and his family were wonderful, as were the other staff members. This is a great value for a basic, clean, well-maintained, pet-friendly, no frills place for people on a budget. One thing I especially liked was that Mo was everywhere — it felt very safe and like he was looking out for his guests. He even started calling my 88 year old mom Mama!

Room Tip: If you've got a pet, be sure to follow Mo's advice for ground floor room on the back. Actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jalSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location was convenient - just a few minutes drive to town. From what I could see walking around town, there weren't many hotels I would consider "a short walk" to the Shakespeare Festival. I figured that it was worth the money saved to stay a bit farther away. The hotel is dated, but clean. The breakfast selection was decent. (I am always happy when there is a waffle maker.) After staying out so late to watch a play, I would have appreciated later hours for the breakfast. It felt like we had to get up too early to take advantage of it, but I suppose 6 am to 9 am may good for most people.
One strange thing happened that you might want to be aware of if you are traveling with children. I couldn't find a channel guide, so I was just clicking through the t.v. channels on our first night. I was shocked when two porn channels showed up. Luckily, my daughter was in the bathroom. After that, I was afraid to change the channel while she was in the room. I never said anything to the manager, because those channels seemed to be blocked the next night. I'm guessing it was some fluke and doesn't happen all the time. It still made me nervous to let her use the remote, in case she accidentally stumbled upon it again. I probably should have mentioned it to them anyway. The staff was very friendly. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casperkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I started staying here about 6 years ago for our semi-annual trips to Ashland's Shakespeare Festival plays - and this year our group numbers 9 people - each very satisfied with this clean, comfortable, convenient motel located on the north end of Ashland adjacent to the Interstate 5 exit and only a few minutes by car or bicycle to downtown Ashland. The rooms have always been clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff very congenial and helpful. The morning buffet includes only the basics - but the waffles are the best we have had anywhere in a motel or hotel (and we have had lots!). The small pool is also very clean with adequate deck chairs - the perfect way to cool off during or after a hot afternoon. We will always stay here when in Ashland, and the jelly beans offered gratis at the front desk are second to none, too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigCHS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Econo Lodge en-route to California. The place is exceptionally well run, very clean, quiet (ask for a room on the back side), and convenient to downtown Ashland for dinner and a walk. Pool was sparkling clean. Waffles and fresh fruit for complimentary breakfast. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Second story, back side of building for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlies1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT COLLINS
Level Contributor
345 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We return annually to stay here. The location is close to Ashland summer theater, rates are about 1/2 those in town, decent cold breakfast with waffles included. staff is friendly, always feel safe. rooms are clean. yes, a bit dated, but we don't travel 1500 miles for the motel room. nice pool I always mean to use but have no time. a nice fringe benefit- county tax is only 1% on room--not 10% or more as elsewhere. family run business-call direct for the best service and consideration.

Room Tip: we prefer the side away from the parking lot, second floor-though near I-5 exit, we never had noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HARLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We chose this place for one reason ~ price. Based on previous TA reviews we thought it would be ok. It was absolutely fine. We needed a clean, decent overnight option on a long road trip (Ashland is located halfway between Portland, OR and the Bay Area, CA). That's what we got. No frills. This place is what it is, a 1970's (or thereabouts) era roadside motel- super convenient to the freeway. Our experience at this average place was excellent. Yes, the bathrooms are tiny. Our rooms (we used two for three adults and two children) were very clean, no smoke smell, decent beds, normal American TV, excellent wireless. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is located in a building in the parking lot that looks like one of those temporary school classrooms. They do allow camping in a part of the parking lot and some poor bloke had the unpleasant job of keeping the campers out of the breakfast room, I felt sorry for him! It was pretty crowded but the food is the purpose, not the ambiance and it was ok to get the day started- fresh fruit, cereal etc. We didn't use the pool but it looked just fine. We arrived, rested, went to dinner and a play, returned late, slept and took off early. It's not a cute B&B or upmarket hotel but it works fine for a quick off the freeway stop at a low price point.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auroraafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
4.9 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ashland Rodeway Inn
Ashland Rodeway Inn
#13 of 19 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
2.9 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 50 Lowe Rd, Ashland, OR 97520-9387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ashland
Ashland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing