We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable!”
Review of The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palm
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Cute little spot with lovely gardens and a great pool. They were so welcoming to our dog, and happy to make referrals for restaurants, etc. The 15-20 stroll to downtown was perfect for the pooch, and the kitchenette made it simple to travel with the dog as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for The Palm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 319 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were in Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival and decided to try the Palm. We had walked by it in the past and admired it.....the concept of upgrading an old motor court style motel was appealing. Our deluxe queen unit was very comfortable with an old (charming) and very functional kitchen, updated bathroom, fresh flowers in room, clean with extra, homey touches throughout. The flower gardens surrounding the courtyard were beautiful!! Climbing roses and a perfect mix of perennials, fountains tucked in many corners, and secluded and private garden seating areas. The pool area is lovely and luxurious, thick beach towels, cushy lounges, surrounded by a private wall, flowers and more fountains! I really enjoyed the salt water pool, just large enough for a few lazy laps. The walk to the theater district took about 25 minutes and we are fairly fit.....driving and parking are not a problem if you are there for the plays and not up to the walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraR0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed two nights - a Wednesday night on the way up to Astoria from the SF bay area and then a Sunday night on the way back. Two different rooms. Both just fine. The bed in the second room was better than the one in the first and vice versa for the showers. We got there pretty late on the Sunday night ( about 10:00 ) and it was no problem. While small, the rooms are clean and the bathrooms are well equipped. Everything works as it should. The grounds also are very pleasant compared, say to the joint next door which probably costs about the same. We have stayed for more money at The Peerless and for less money at the Manor on the other end of town and this is a good compromise.

Room Tip: The further back from the Boulevard, the quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonobanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our family stopped a night here on our way up to Seattle from San Francisco as it was about the halfway mark. We absolutely loved this little treasure of a hotel/motel. Travelling with two children meant we needed a two room place and we got a great suite; two adjoining rooms and a small kitchenette/sitting area. It was impeccably clean and very modern/chic, with everything you could need.
After being car bound for 6 plus hours we couldn't wait to try the pool which was fantastic! It was warm, clean and had cool looking cabanas around it giving it a very exotic feel, the landscaping around it was very well done too.
After a swim we headed (a short drive) into town and got a bite to eat at the local Italian restaurant which had something for everyone. The next day needing to eat before we continued on our journey we stopped in at Morning Glory which had a delicious breakfast and it was very reasonably priced and delicious. If we hadn't been passing through we would have definitely used the kitchen more.
However it would be a bonus if the hotel offered some breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. We will definitely stay again. Room was very nice and very quiet! Attention to the details was a pleasant surprise. Everything from the make up mirror in the bathroom, bathrobes and the fireplace! Best breakfast in town within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraMichelleJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Palm. Our room was fine with an attached kitchenette where we were able to fix breakfast every day and keep our drinks cold in the refrigerator. There was a nice shady outdoor sitting area just outside our room. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. It was a pleasant about 1 mile walk to the theater. Will stay there again,

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the street may be noisier. Ours was at the back and was quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were so fortunate when we came across The Palm about 6 years ago. We travel back and forth between Seattle and Palm Springs twice a year and often go through Ashland. We ALWAYS try to stay at The Palm. As a matter of fact, if we can't get a room, we usually keep driving!!!

This older motel has been renovated into beautiful, charming rooms; each different from the other. We especially noticed this the last time we stayed as our room was much smaller than the ones we usually stay in. This one didn't have a kitchenette and there wasn't as much seating area but it was still lovely. They always have lots of special touches like the handmade soaps, fresh flowers and lovely linens.

The gardens are lovely.

If your worried about space, be sure and ask for a room with a kitchenette but you can't go wrong here!!!

Room Tip: If you are staying for longer than overnight, you might want a room with a kitchenette just for the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
1.2 mi away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
1.7 mi away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ashland
685 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Windsor Inn
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm

Address: 1065 Siskiyou Blvd, Ashland, OR 97520-2238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ashland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ashland
#6 Family Hotel in Ashland
Price Range: $107 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside of the ordinary. Guests enjoy award-winning gardens, mature trees, and lawn seating areas that are as welcoming as they are comfortable. Cottage-style guest rooms and sumptuous fireplace suites available. In summer and fall, you'll enjoy an inviting new pool concept complete with private cabanas, and soothing water features. Guests enjoy flat-screen TVs and both complimentary wireless internet and parking. Conveniently located across from the university. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Hotel Ashland
Palm Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing